119 Grams of Protein

Piyorot
Inthentic Inc
Published in
2 min readFeb 10, 2017

If you weight about 70 kilograms and you are building your muscles, in principle you are going to need between 84 to 119 grams of protein a day.

* Protein intake = 1.2–1.7 grams of protein/kilogram of body mass

119 is very specific but unfortunately is not helpful. How can I be sure I get 119 grams of protein everyday?

Here you go:

  • 100 grams of salmon give you 20 grams of protein.
  • 1 can of tuna gives you 40 grams of protein.
  • 100 grams of ground beef gives you 25 grams of protein.
  • 100 grams of chicken breast also gives you 25 grams of protein.
  • 1 egg gives you 7 grams of protein.
  • 100 grams of cottage cheese gives you 12 grams of protein.

A bit better, I know what I should put in my stomach this evening. But life is busy. I am not sure I have time and brain to think of menus for tomorrow.

OK. Try this to get 200+ grams of protein a day:

  • Breakfast: 3 whole eggs with spinach
  • Snack: 200 grams cottage cheese with apple
  • Lunch: 1 can of tuna with bok choy
  • Snack: 500 milliliter raw milk and banana
  • Post workout: 1 scoop whey with oats & 500 milliliter milk
  • Dinner: 150 grams chicken breast with pasta & broccoli
  • Pre bed: 200 grams cottage cheese with berries & flax seeds

Being specific can be a good thing. But most of the time the numbers alone create more confusion. The numbers alone are hard to digest. So, it is our job as a communicator to go a bit further to always convey meaningful messages.

Don’t tell them about 119 grams of protein a day. Give them daily meal plan instead.

Thinking and writing are the things I like. Sharing is what I love. Because of them, I write everyday to share stories from my thoughts and experiences, from the future I see and believe in. Everything I use to build Inthentic a better home. A home of people who want to do good things and give back. A home that is a small starting point of changes for a better society. I am proud of what I am doing. And even prouder to know that I am not doing it alone.

Thanks for reading. :-)

--

--

Piyorot
Inthentic Inc

A member of Mutrack and Inthentic. I lead, learn, and build with vision, love and care. https://piyorot.com