First, You Ask

Piyorot
Inthentic Inc
Published in
2 min readMay 31, 2017

One of my close friend came to me to share her horrible experience from the work. Ten minutes of her talking alone, I was there just to listen. Then she stopped. What should I do next?

Option 1, I talk back. I share my thoughts. I suggest something to her.

Option 2, which I think a better one. I ask back. A lot of questions.

It might not be the best option to rashly give your opinions when you don’t have enough information. It is not good to support or blame someone with no reason. And it is not good to give her suggestions carelessly.

Hence the option 2.

  • Ask so that you can understand more about the situation.
  • Ask so that you can buy time to think clearly and act carefully.
  • Ask so that you can reduce biases from a teller.
  • Ask so that you can comprehend what exactly a teller wants.
  • Ask so that you can help a teller see new perspectives of the story.

Ask so that a teller can have time to think and see the answers herself. That’s the best way of giving suggestion.

Thinking and writing are the things I like. Sharing is what I love. Because of them, I write everyday to share stories from my thoughts and experiences, from the future I see and believe in. Everything I use to build Inthentic a better home. A home of people who want to do good things and give back. A home that is a small starting point of changes for a better society. I am proud of what I am doing. And even prouder to know that I am not doing it alone.

Thanks for reading. :-)

--

--

Piyorot
Inthentic Inc

A member of Mutrack and Inthentic. I lead, learn, and build with vision, love and care. https://piyorot.com