River

Piyorot
Inthentic Inc
Published in
3 min readFeb 17, 2017

--

Back in the old days, I used to be a strict man. I had a set of beliefs that I wouldn’t break. Not only with myself but people around me too. I held others accountable for following my rules.

I had a fight with my mother and brother because of my inability to be flexible. I used to say to them “This is not right!!!”.

I had a problem with some of my colleagues when I spotted a bend in my rules. I used to say to them “You must do this!!!”.

I had to stick with doing something in a rigid way without knowing a purpose of doing them. I used to say to myself “This is what I have done in the last three years. So it must be carried on.”

I chose to be a stone and not a river.

But I have changed. For the last couple of years, my beliefs shifted because I realized that people cannot change so I have to change. Because I learned that to evolve is to rethink. Because I taught myself to trust in broad principles and not detailed methodologies.

Since then, I stopped doing a lot of wasteful activities for both business and personal life. I started to look at everything from a wider angle. I started to feel more relaxing and approachable.

Nowadays, I don’t try to change anyone for anything. I always give my view and my recommendation when needed but I never expect anyone to believe or follow what I say.

Right now, I am developing a new product concept. A principle that I hold tight in my mind is this:

Don’t make a stone product that is hard and immovable. Make a river product that continuously flows and flexible.

We may be able to persuade someone to do as we say some of the time. But we will never be able to force everyone to do as we say all the time.

And when they break the rules, a great product will always be able to cope with that. Just like a great leader.

Thinking and writing are the things I like. Sharing is what I love. Because of them, I write everyday to share stories from my thoughts and experiences, from the future I see and believe in. Everything I use to build Inthentic a better home. A home of people who want to do good things and give back. A home that is a small starting point of changes for a better society. I am proud of what I am doing. And even prouder to know that I am not doing it alone.

Thanks for reading. :-)

--

--

Piyorot
Inthentic Inc

A member of Mutrack and Inthentic. I lead, learn, and build with vision, love and care. https://piyorot.com