Preaching

Brother Mike, Can We Talk?

Where I learned about true love and how to love.

Mike Sansone
Inspiring Words
Published in
3 min readApr 9, 2024

--

A man taking notes while studying a Bible.
Photo by Fa Barboza on Unsplash

Did you know, I was once a pastor?

There was a small building in Abingdon, Maryland, and when I moved into town, someone recommended this church as one with a good spirit and just good ol’ country folks.

It sounded like my kind of place. I was studying to enter a ministry of service, and the pastor asked me if I’d like to oversee one of the Adult Sunday School classes.

I told him it would be an honor and a privilege and away we went. I served helping the church and its members in various capacities of labor and ministry. Members began calling me on the phone late at night when there was trouble at home, and they couldn’t reach the pastor.

I was working full-time as a property manager, but I felt called to help out when I could. I’ve always loved loving on others, and I loved serving the Lord.

One Sunday night, the pastor approached me just before the service and told me he had to take care of something and needed me to preach. The service started in about four minutes. “Gotta go,” he said on his way out the door.

::: Gulp :::

--

--

Mike Sansone
Inspiring Words

Hi :-) - At our core, we all want to laugh, be listened to, and want to be loved. Managing Editor/Owner of Reaching Hearts & also Leading With Love publications