MEDIUM WRITERS

Important Info About the Newest Medium Algorithm

Algorithm updates that involve your articles

Fleda.B
Inspiring Words
Published in
3 min readJun 15, 2024

--

Photo by Google DeepMind on Unsplash

You can’t see algorithms, but they exist and effect all of us who write on line.

I’m writing this primarily for the writers and readers who follow me because these upcoming changes involve all of us.

Much of the information here stems from an article by Bin Jiang and others, and I will include links to all of them.

As we all know, Medium has been making massive changes and aggressively pursuing spam, spammers, and AI. Some people, including me, were caught up in one of the sweeps and banned for a short time. Others are gone.

The glitches also involved notifications and claps. Some are currently experiencing incorrect or no information about read time.

What’s new?

The 20-second rule for claps. If you open an article and immediately clap, the claps will not count for the writer. The 20 seconds are not part of the 30 seconds of…

--

--

Fleda.B
Inspiring Words

I'm a writer and expert on winning my battle to live a life of encouragement, and self improvement. I love God, nature and I'm an expert on smiles and joy.