KINDNESS DELIVERED DAILY

Tom Owens: How I REALLY Feel!
Inspiring Words
Published in
3 min readJun 6, 2024

--

Watch Out, DoorDash and Grubhub. I’m Your New Rival!

Best of all, I tip myself

Sometimes, the parking lot is more interesting than being inside the store. (Image by Freepik)

I know there are tons of delivery services in most towns. If you pay the price, they’ll get you food from anywhere, anytime.

However, I think others have a hunger that cannot be satisfied with food. These people hunger to be seen. They are hungry to feel like they matter.

That’s my specialty. I’m not a shy person. Therefore, it’s easy to find a warm remark for anyone I encounter.

I take daily trips to Fareway, the grocery store across the street from my apartment building. I may buy a banana or a bit of produce. Other times, I may limit myself to strolling the aisles when outdoors seems too hot or cold.

In the parking lot, I witness assortments of humanity coming and going. I walk past cars containing happy pet owners and their lap dogs. Often, the windows are lowered just enough so dogs can sniff the world.

“Hello,” I proclaim. “Good dog. Good human!” Both smile at me. Only once did I face a challenge. Not from a dog, but from its person.

“She is not a good dog!” a man lamented. “She’s naughty, but still expects treats.” The white poodle looked at me with sad eyes then hung her head. “Try…

--

--

Tom Owens: How I REALLY Feel!
Inspiring Words

As “Thomas S. Owens,” he authored 50-plus children’s books. As Tom, he debates day jobs on Twitter. Now, on Medium, buckle up. Tell-all Tom is here!