Calm

Nevertheless is a Calming Word

Amidst times of trouble and chaos, I lean on this word.

Mike Sansone
Inspiring Words
Published in
2 min readMar 28, 2024

--

Storm ahead on a country road.
Photo by NOAA on Unsplash

There is a phrase I whisper in my spirit when all else doesn’t work for me.

Nevertheless, the foundation of God stands sure,” is the phrase that soothes my soul and gives me a footing to continue on.

I read this in the Bible, finding it in 2 Timothy 2:19. While it’s only the first portion of the verse, it has given me an anchor and solid ground.

When I hear of wars and rumors of wars, I recall: Nevertheless.

In the fall of 2022, I battled through an aortic dissection, affecting my health for a bit. When it first struck, it felt like a heart attack. My first thought: Nevertheless.

In September 2013, I was in Estes Park during what was called a 100-year rain. Flooding, landslides, and washed-away streets—I didn’t know what was coming, but I knew what I leaned on heavily: Nevertheless.

Any danger or threat of danger, I think (and sometimes say out loud): Nevertheless, the foundation of God stands sure.

Whenever I need to gain calm quickly, my reliance on this verse and this word stand sure. No matter what.

I’m thankful for the opportunity to write this story for this wonderful new publication, Inspiring Words. Thank you to Fleda.B. for allowing me to exercise my writing muscles here. Want to write your own Inspired Words? Here’s how:

--

--

Mike Sansone
Inspiring Words

Hi :-) -We all want to laugh, be listened to, and want to be loved. Editor/Owner of these pubs : Reaching Hearts, Romancing Hearts, & Leadership Hearts.