Greetings

Why Do I Wave to Everyone?

With a friendly smile and a wave of hello

Mike Sansone
Inspiring Words
Published in
2 min readJun 1, 2024

--

Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

We were raking leaves in the church parking lot and grounds.

Our building was small, yet our hearts were huge. I had about five teens from our youth group with me.

We were raking and sweeping on a sunny November morning. It was going to rain during the coming weekend, and we wanted to get the leaves up before they became part of the pavement.

Every time a car drove by, I stopped and waved with a smile. It was nothing extravagant but hopefully noticeable.

One of the older teen guys asked me why I waved at all the cars. Did I know them?

One of our teen girls, probably the best singer in our church, asked why some cars didn’t wave back.

Everyone was curious. They gathered around (I guess they wanted a break).

As I started talking, a van drove by. I waved, and so did some of the kids. The driver beamed and waved back. The kids cheered!

“I don’t know most of the cars driving by, but I always wave,” I said. “And I smile, I always smile.”

Just then, our pianist Edna drove by and honked her horn to say “Hi,” and we all waved and smiled.

--

--

Mike Sansone
Inspiring Words

Hi :-) -We all want to laugh, be listened to, and want to be loved. Editor/Owner of these pubs : Reaching Hearts, Romancing Hearts, & Leadership Hearts.