Who to follow for CryptoCurrency updates

Alejandro Tarazona
INST414: Data Science Techniques
4 min readMay 11, 2022

Twitter is one of the few apps that updates at a rapid pace. As we move on to a more online way of living, many college students go on Twitter to seek quick updates on some news. Twitter’s timeline will update every time you hit the refresh or pull the top post down with your finger. So, it will be interesting to see how well Twitter can keep up with cryptocurrency information. Cryptocurrencies are super volatile, so let’s see how well Twitter can keep up with this “black market” investment. The three accounts that I wanted to look at were @crypto_goat, @Bitcoin, and @ethereum. These are some of the accounts that I wanted to look at their followers to follow other accounts that hopefully keep up with crypto information. Getting more options for people to follow can keep my Twitter timeline packed with up-to-date information. Hopefully, one day make a correct investment and make thousands of dollars from that investment.

Twitter is one of the few apps that updates at a rapid pace. As we move to a move online way of living, many college students go on Twitter to seek quick updates on some news. Twitter’s timeline will update every time you hit the refresh or pull the top post down with your finger. So, it will be interesting to see how well Twitter can keep up with cryptocurrency information. Cryptocurrencies are super volatile, so let’s see how well Twitter can keep up with this “black market” investment. The three accounts that I wanted to look at were @crypto_goat, @Bitcoin, and @ethereum. These are some of the accounts that I wanted to look at their followers to follow other accounts that hopefully keep up with crypto information. Getting more options for people to follow can keep my Twitter timeline packed with up-to-date information. Hopefully, one day make a correct investment and make thousands of dollars from that investment.

I needed to request a Twitter developer access key to generate most of the information, which would allow me to develop all of the information that I needed from Twitter. I needed this API to generate all of the network data from Twitter. More specifically, all the followers of cryptocurrencies. The nodes for this data would be each user’s Twitter account name in the network data. At the same time, the edges would be the following relationship between each account. To produce this graph, I pulled 15 Twitter accounts that these cryptocurrencies are following and a few following accounts.

I mainly utilized NetworkX and Tweepy to generate my data and visualization. NetworkX mapped and saved all of the data together to analyze. It opened some drawing and layout features to produce some exciting graphs. At the same time, Tweepy allowed me to extract the user following and follower data from Twitter. However, that was a very exhausting task that I will talk about later.

Bellow will be the two graphs for the bitcoin and Ethereum followers. I used the shell_layout feature in the NetworkX library. The way it zooms out and looks like a shell allows the user to see most of the names—a quick preview of the primary account for two cryptocurrencies.

Bellow will be the spiral_layout feature in the NetworkX library. This will help people see the information in another way. I like the spiral graph look since some accounts look closer together. I ensured that there is the first level of edges that users are following crypto_goat. Then you have another group of edges with the five other accounts that follow that user.

Problems

One of the main problems I ran into was getting the API developer access key. At first, Twitter granted me a deficient level of access that did not allow me to pull much information. With the Essential access, I was unable to generate any followers or follow data from the API. I emailed Twitter and asked them to bump me up to the “Elevated” access level. Although it took two days for it to be approved, the rest of the script was easy to finish writing once I got it. Thanks to Benjamin Lan and his amazing descriptive video, most of my code was produced. It helps me understand the boundaries and accommodations for specific calls.

Conclusion

This hits the spot for what to do and whom to add to your friend group. I am tired of scrolling through some useless post or using the search feature to look for specific information you want. As Benjamin Lam included in his medium post, “Twitter may already have a “Whom to follow” or “Suggested for you” list of Twitter users based on your interests and following already, but it lacks the option for a specific topic or community when looking for new accounts to follow.” Most people would be looking at this information today and possibly adding some cryptocurrency account. People tend to add people they think would have the same viewpoint. So this report will help someone who wants more cryptocurrency information.

Code: https://github.com/Atarazona11/INST-414/blob/main/Assingment_two.ipynb

--

--