My definition of productivity

Personal x Professional Productivity

Nazli Turhan
Insumo
Published in
3 min readNov 1, 2022

--

Photo by Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

What does productivity mean for me?

Every individual has their definition of productivity. When individuals come together, forming a group, creating a business, and so on, the singular ideas of productivity conjoin. Combining these ideas, which we can think of as the middle section of a Venn diagram, creates a distinct understanding of productivity. Some individuals strive to be a part of companies and businesses where their meaning of “what it means to be productive” is aligned. Take a second and reflect. Think of your current/imaginary company and coworkers; what is the attempt/overall process of completing the to-do lists? Then, imagine your ideals and ways of approaching similar lists. There is ought to be similarities. The accumulation of such productivity practices result in a cumulative and collaborative environment.

Although we can approach productivity from many angles, most prominent two being personal and professional, we can see how these types of productivity are intertwined. Here, Insumo and BeforeSunset enter the chat. Insumo, a personalized productivity assistant, guides users to create/select habits from its habit library, set challenges, sync with other productivity tools, and track their progress through the insights interface. BeforeSunset, an online work management tool, offers users seamless time tracking, budget monitoring, and effective management features. Let’s keep these personal and professional productivity apps in mind as points of reference while I continue this topic.

A Productive Day in the Life

The versatile nature of productivity and its applicability in every domain of our lives is an aha moment. Let me take you through my day to explain. First, I wake up for work, reach for my phone to catch up with texts, and skim through emails. Next, I go to my Insumo app to enter daily to-do’s, look at meeting times, and set a habit for the day (two, if I’m feeling crazy). Then comes the first coffee, doubling or even tripling, depending on the day. My morning and personal productivity set the tone for the following hours. Finally, after completing all wellness and nutrition check marks, I begin the professional productivity part of my day.

The need for productivity/areas of productivity differ in the morning and after work. There is a sense of accomplishment on a more personal level, whereas, at work, it’s mostly towards the cumulative effort. I guess that’s how I differentiate work and grind productivity from personal productivity.

Throughout my typical work day, I utilize various productivity tools, including BeforeSunset as mentioned earlier. The differences between these productivity tools and usages help me differentiate between the professional vs. the personal. Like many others, I prefer keeping my professional and personal life apart. I have different needs for productivity in both areas, set goals, adopt new habits, and make to-do lists. I like this quote by Tim Ferriss “Focus on being productive instead of busy.” Ferriss, who wears many different hats daily (entrepreneur, podcaster, author, investor, lifestyle guru), clearly separates productivity from busyness. When I am productive, I am more focused and do things with a purpose. Finding and setting personal productivity hacks, applications, and strategies that support my journey have been transformative.

Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

Many hats of productivity

We wear many different productivity hats over 24 hours. One for multitasking, one for personal growth, one for collaboration, one for… This list can go on forever. Whether you are a multitasker or not, productivity extends to and touches every aspect of your life. What’s important is to use the right tools, create your own rules, and continue on the productivity journey. Personal and professional productivity, the most useful alliteration.

--

--

Nazli Turhan
Insumo
Writer for

NYU alumni. BA in Media and Writing. Minor in Psych.