Ayo Alabi
Integrify
Published in
2 min readFeb 16, 2018

--

axios.get(‘/MyPath’)=> .then(res=>res.integrify)

My name is Olujuwon and I have always dreaded the idea of becoming a developer. I used to think that developers are just a bunch of boring geeks. Anyways, I became a trained and certified network engineer and worked in this capacity for four years after my Bachelor’s Degree. I left Nigeria in 2014 to further my career as a network engineer by adding data & network security to my qualifications through Master’s Degree at Åbo Akademi University in Turku.

I guess the only time we’d ever stop learning in life is when we have evolved to dwelling six feet below the ground :) Here I am today, a web developer at Integrify and I’m not just loving it, I’m living it!

Back in Nigeria I worked for a total of six years as a network engineer in banking sector as well as in oil & gas. I enjoyed working in this role but I always yearned for more. My passion to learn new things, meet new people and to learn to do things in other different ways lead me to leave Nigeria to come to Finland.

I am from the North-central part of Nigeria, born into a large family. My dad being a surgeon and my mum a nurse, everyone expected that my natural career path should be in medicine. But here I am bursting out code. My family taught me all about discipline, responsibility and how to survive independently. All these things have come to pass in my new life as a coder.

I applied to Integrify after I stumbled on one of Integrify posts on a job-vacancy group on Facebook. This was one year after completing my Master’s Degree and without successfully landing a job yet. The initial inspiration I would say really came from spending a lot of time on Linkedin checking out job vacancies and realizing that there is a huge demand for developers.

Integrify is my opportunity to have a successful career change. How is it going so far? Oh my! It’s been fantabulous! And I am grateful for Integrify for showing me this path to creativity.

I am grateful and feeling lucky to be part of this life changing course and opportunity. If asked how likely it is that I would recommend this course to my friends and loved ones, on a scale of one to ten, I’d say most definitely say “TEN!”

With mastering software development the opportunities are endless! I hope to become a senior developer in the near future and also eventually try out my wings as a start-up entrepreneur one day.

--

--