Tareq Mahmud
Integrify
Published in
3 min readMar 12, 2018

--

wantChangeInLife ? actOnIt() : StopComplaning();

Not so long ago, I got my first computer while most of my friends already had their fun childhood with personal computers. Regardless of my late orientation to information technologies, my eternal quest for learning something new played a pivotal role in choosing a career in tech. In the next few lines, I will briefly write about my background, since it’s going to be a 3-minute read.

My name is Tareq, originally from Bangladesh. It has been already eight good years since I moved here in Finland for my BBA program. Even though I had a degree in business, I never managed to work in any closely related field here in Finland. Over the time I started believing that it is very unlikely to land a job in this area with my limited language skills. That’s when I started looking into the landscape of software development.

I never got to study Computer Science or any kind of Engineering Degree at the university level. In fact, my entire education background has always been business studies from high school to university. But deep down inside I am a tech guy who likes to read and follow the recent development in the different domains of technology. To me, the most exciting part is the advancement in Information Technology. Future of personal computing, Artificial Intelligence, Internet Of Things, Machine Learning and Autonomous Vehicle never fail to excite me every time I think about them. But little did I know, that someday I could also start writing software.

I have always thought that in order to become a coder one has to be a math wizard, and I am not denying the importance of logical aptitude in programming. Even though I can not recollect a distant memory of the last time I did some maths, still I accumulated enough courage and motivation to start this incredible journey. I have to admit that I didn’t leave any stone unturned in terms of putting a lot of hard work.

In the beginning of 2017, I started this self-taught coding journey. It has now been a year and few months . Many good things have started to happen ever since. The most remarkable one was my participation in a software development cohort at Integrify. Learning to code at home takes a lot of motivation and then landing a job requires a network, especially in a country like Finland. But Integrify makes this bumpy ride to a smooth one by providing an immersive boot-camp style software development training. The last few months here in Integrify have been a life-changing experience for me. I can not thank Integrify enough for the help I badly needed in order to kickstart this journey towards my dream career. My firm belief is that Integrify will play the very primal role in the integration of talented immigrants through technology.

While I express my gratitude for this remarkable opportunity, I envision my future career as a full stack software developer where I can harness the power of my business and tech skills by providing cutting-edge solutions to the clients.

--

--

Tareq Mahmud
Integrify

A tech enthusiast and insightful Business Graduate .