Down Syndrome Awareness Month — 21 Quotes from Extraordinary Individuals

Mikayla Holmgren

People with down syndrome have to battle unfounded stereotypes every day. Awareness days and months are often dismissed by the general public. This comes part from fear of the unknown, part lack of responsibility, and all from varying levels of discrimination. But that’s a huge mistake. You know what pushes people to be great? Adversity. So, you have a community of humans who have battled through their own health challenges from birth. By the time a person who has down syndrome is a toddler, they’ve often handled more adversity than many will in a life time. Not only does that mean that society is ignoring people who have the highest potential for greatness, but that society is ignoring people who have already proven their greatness. The world needs strong people with strong voices, so why does it mute those who have the most experience in being strong?

Rather than spending awareness days listing out a bunch of generic medical diagnoses, let’s remove “generic” and “diagnoses” and focus on abilities. Honestly, someone else’s medical diagnosis is no-one else’s business.

Imagine a person who is a phenomenal dancer, a speaker, a philanthropist, a creative thinker, a musician, and she has a rare medical diagnosis. Why are people talking about the latter and negating everything else? How does that feel for this person who is so much but who has only ever really been seen for the one thing that others cannot be? This mistreatment is driven by fear of the unknown. So, what we mean by awareness days is for people to learn three things a) all people are more alike than different, b) every single person on this earth is different from the person standing next to them, and c) a medical diagnosis does not the person make. With that, here are 21 quotes from extraordinary people who also happen to have down syndrome:

“Having Down syndrome is like being born normal. I am just like you and you are just like me. We are all born in different ways, that is the way I can describe it. I have a normal life.”– Chris Burke, American Actor, and Folk Singer

“My friends that are differently-abled do things equally as well. My friend Johnny is self-taught and plays the Bagpipes, my friend Byron can sing like nobody’s business, my friend Carrie is a Zumba instructor.”– Manager of Grassroots Advocacy at the National Down Syndrome Society

“Aren’t we all human? Don’t we all deserve to be respected and treated equally?”– Madeline Stuart, Australian Catwalk Model

“Having Down syndrome means nothing to me, I’m special like everyone else. I do not let people judge me for having Down syndrome. The important thing is how I feel about myself. On the inside, I feel beautiful.”– Edward Barbanell, Actor and Comedian

“We have the same wants and dreams as everyone else. We can do anything anyone else can do. We are more alike than we are different.”– Manager of Advocacy at the National Down Syndrome Society

“A long time ago when I was very little, I dreamed about being on stage. Some people told me I would never be able to do it, so I only paid attention to those who told me that I could.”– Lauren Potter, Actress

Zumba is for everybody, everyone can do it.”– Yulissa Arescurenaga, Zumba Instructor

“It was a ‘NO’ that I wanted to turn into a big ‘YES’.”– Isabella Springmühl on Becoming the First Designer with DS to hit the catwalk at London Fashion Week

Pablo Pineda

“I always say I am Pablo Pineda and that I have Down’s syndrome. There is a big difference between ‘having’ and ‘being.’ ‘Being’ can crush you down and ‘having’ shows it is only one feature.”
– Pablo Pineda, the first European with DS to graduate with a university degree

“I have one chromosome more than you. So what?”
– Karen Gaffney, Speaker and Advocate for People with Disabilities

“Each impossible mission can be made possible if you put your mind to it and work hard without giving up.”– Sujeet Desai, the first musician with Down syndrome to play at Carnegie Hall

Jamie Brewer

“Don’t limit us. Don’t limit me.”– Jamie Brewer, Actress

“Never give up. Don’t let people make you sad or feel rejected. Stay motivated and follow your dreams.” — Collette Divitto, Baker and Owner of World Famous Colletey’s Cookies

– Zhou Zhou, Composer

“If you take one thing away from today, I want you to know that I am a man with Down syndrome and my life is worth living.”– John Franklin “Frank” Stephens, Athlete

“I am a painter.”– Michael Johnson, Artist

“My favorite part of the work day is giving out the free Tim Hugs. They are on my menu and most people order at least one. So far, I’ve given out nearly 40,000 hugs. I even have a counter on the wall to keep track of the total. I guess you can say I’m a lean, mean, hugging machine.”– Tim Harris, Gold Medal Olympian and Restauranteur

“No one gets to tell you how big your dreams can be!”– Mikayla Holmgren, Dancer and First Woman with DS to Compete in Miss USA

“It’s not about celebrating disabilities, it’s about celebrating abilities.”
– Chris Burke, American Actor & NDSS Goodwill Ambassador

“I’ve always voted since I was 18 years old, but other people (in my situation) have never been able to. We want the laws relating to the right to vote changed,”– Ángela Bachiller, Politician

“I have Down’s Syndrome but that is not all I am.”– Sarah Gordy, Actor

October is Down Syndrome Awareness Month, a chance to spread awareness and inclusivity. It’s not about celebrating disabilities, it’s about celebrating abilities. Let’s stop talking about what “holds a person back” and start talking about what that person is capable of, and how ignoring abilities of some people holds all of society back.

Stephen’s Place Community in Vancouver, Washington

About Stephen’s Place

Stephen’s Place is an independent apartment community for adults with developmental and intellectual disabilities, located in Vancouver, WA (7 minutes from Portland, OR).

If you have a loved one with developmental or intellectual disabilities, who is looking for a community to live in, please contact us for more information.

Stephen’s Place is a private-pay apartment community due to our state-of-the-art amenities and programs. We are a nonprofit and do not profit from our community. We are private pay because we spend more than some housing communities to ensure that our residents are comfortable and can safely live their lives with independence and dignity.

Originally published at https://stephensplace.org on October 13, 2020.

--

--

Stephens Place
Intellectual and Developmental Disability Resources

Stephen’s Place is an independent apartment community for adults with developmental and intellectual disabilities, located in Vancouver, WA