Green

Kim Sieberg
Intellectual Coloring Book
3 min readMar 8, 2021

Green has become a way for me to connect and find mindfulness in the more natural world around me.

I have lived in Maui, Hawaii for over fifteen years and I remember the overwhelming feeling of new beginnings when I first arrived here. Over the years I have started to lose more and more of the wonder and and sense of adventure that I had felt for years.

This playlist is paying homage and respect to the land that I have the privilege to call my home. The current state of the world has definitely given me a greater sense of place in my home before I eventually move on. Lei Hali’a by Keali’i Reichel talks about a sweet recollection of the islands and how these memories live in the heart.

Green has this distinct feeling of movement although being in a stationary position. In my family I have always been the baby, the youngest of the family who does not necessarily have a straight line of start to finish career-wise. As a kid I really wanted to be a veterinarian only to discover I am very allergic to cats. A doctor, later unpleasantly finding out my distaste and reaction to blood. A theatre designer, for which I got into USC to pursue only to switch out of very early on.

Green has become an unstable color at times for me, as all of the plants I have tried to grow have unceremoniously shriveled away. At any moment the wind could change direction and I could end up pursuing a different career or finding myself in a totally new environment. This is seen in my choice of Movement by Hozier.

Even when I do get wrapped up in my studies or all the routes my life could take me, green is a comfort color for me due to the access of it in my favorite Studio Ghibli movies. One Summer’s Day is a very nostalgic piece that comes directly from the soul, to either calm or catalyst the flow of tears. It captures the gentle nature of the color green before it grows deeper into sadder colors such as blue.

WORKS CITED

Sieberg, Kimberly. “Green” Spotify, Created by KimiSieb, March 2021. https://open.spotify.com/playlist/7A7MMRtO48r8BCy16ptNJx?si=YSgHwDD_Tr-UOtSYjQ0Frg

*Note: All photography is by me. Yes, I might be too lazy to cite them all because most of them do not have titles but their years range from 2015 to 2020

--

--

Kim Sieberg
Intellectual Coloring Book

USC Roski ‘24 Spend most of my time doing art and playing League of Legends 🤗