Golden Creatures

Vicki Nemeth
Intended Outcomes
Published in
1 min readFeb 14, 2017
CC0 by Blake Richard Verdoorn

How biodiverse is Muskoka, that
in public gardens, I discovered two
new insects: male and female ladybirds,
yet shining gold as long Pharaonic lines,
being fruitful: the only of their kind
created for each other knew no duty
but multiply together on the Earth.

But I, I did not write a poem for them,
the story of their love would not embellish.
For suitors, every day, would come for me
who thought themselves of golden blood, and I
made only to adorn and fill their houses.
And so, that precious tale of creatures gold,
although their own, went humanly untold.

Thank you for reading.

If you like this poem, please ❤ &/or follow.
If you want to help support my poetry, you can donate at Paypal.me/VickiSNemeth

--

--

Vicki Nemeth
Intended Outcomes

I think I’m done here (for real: I haven’t participated in years). You can check out my freelancing at http://www.VickiNemethWriter.com