The Laughing Ducks

Vicki Nemeth
Intended Outcomes
Published in
2 min readMar 28, 2017

--

CC0 / Couleur

The ducks on the river laugh forever in the sun.
I can stare out my window, but not for long

but what I went to do is not what I remember.
What I remember is
the crows.
It wasn’t the usual here and there caws:
“Hello! How are you?” No.
It was cawing nonstop, until I paid attention.
Something’s going on out there.
I peer out the window…

CC0 / Julia Revitt

A bald eagle? Here?
Dives on the ducks! Swoops up empty
to try again! Another miss!
Again! Failure.
By now, the ducks have arisen together

and the eagle turns south with empty talons.
The cawing slows and quiets
as the ducks encircle the valley
and return in unison: one hundred tiny splashes
to start laughing again.

FreeImages.com / Jeff Jones

Thank you for reading

If you would like to support my poetry, please clap, share, or donate

--

--

Vicki Nemeth
Intended Outcomes

I think I’m done here (for real: I haven’t participated in years). You can check out my freelancing at http://www.VickiNemethWriter.com