What I Did on My First Christmas Alone

Our culture treats having Christmas alone like it’s the worst thing in the universe. I don’t get that.

Vicki Nemeth
Intended Outcomes
Published in
3 min readDec 26, 2015

--

What’s supposed to happen to someone who doesn’t spend Christmas Day with zillions of people? Is Santa going to cancel Christmas? Is the sun going to expand 5 billion years early? Is it my fault we had a green Christmas in 2015?

’Cause I spent Christmas 2015 alone, and it was pretty good.

So… what are your excuses for telling me I have to spend my Christmas Day with piles of people, accept bad gifts into my tiny apartment, and eat tons of unhealthy food?

I can hear them now…

But Vikki, don’t you have any friends and family to spend Christmas with?

Why? I see people every other day of the year. I’ve been seeing people all December. Do you think we avoided talking about Christmas things? The only reason why I am supposed to miss my family on December 25 is because you said so.

But Vicky, don’t you want to celebrate Christmas?

Who said I wasn’t celebrating Christmas? Christmas is a whole season. Christmas events have been happening almost every day in December: plays, concerts, church services; Christmas decor is everywhere despite the lack of snow. I’ve decorated my apartment with paper cutout snowflakes (that are actually hexagonal!) and the store below has a lit Christmas tree in their window that I can see reflected in the window across the street. I’ve been giving cards, sending cards, getting cards, and collecting different spellings of my name like I do every year.

But Viki… why wouldn’t you want to celebrate with Christmas Dinner?

What? Who said I wouldn’t have Christmas dinner? I’ve had two Christmas dinners this December, just not on December 25. One was with the youth centre where I volunteer, and the other was with my church. They were huge with turkey, potatoes, and candy. Plus, they were full of people I intentionally choose to spend time with, not because of blood ties I can’t control, but because I want to.

But…

But people who don’t celebrate Christmas with friends and family are dark… brooding… and LONELY CHARACTERS who need somebody to show them the Christmas Spirit and make them feel better!

You don’t still believe that after reading this article so far, do you?

Unless…

… Unless you are only capable of accepting the existence of people who fit stereotypes you absorbed before you were twelve, no matter what kind of person is standing in front of you. Please stop thinking that people need you to impose your choices on them, just because you need to impose your choices on other people.

For those of you who have been reading up to this point, here is how I spent a great Christmas Day alone.

I did whatever I wanted:

  • Woke up early and naturally after a full night’s sleep
  • Ate leftover spicy chicken paprikash lentil soup for breakfast and lunch
  • Reveled in the peace of my Main and Centre apartment because there was virtually no traffic on the street
  • Listened to my favourite internet radio, and its Christmas playlist was actually longer than six hours! A lot longer! I didn’t hear a single repeat all day! Thanks, GeekBeatRadio!
  • Wore pajamas all day except while outdoors
  • Wore navy, black, and hot pink with no glitter, jewelery, or makeup
  • Played on the swings in the oddly vacant park
  • Drank real hot cocoa from scratch
  • Took a nap by the window in the sun
  • Meditated
  • Read my daily Bible chapter
  • Made eggnog cake by replacing the milk of a recipe with eggnog
  • Did my daily Tweet
  • Read articles on Medium
  • Did paying freelance work
  • Did Legacy Work (that would be writing this article)
  • Called my mother back
  • Ate bacon, eggs, and potatoes for supper
  • Washed dishes generated by one person over two days

My Christmas Day alone was lovely. I’m glad I did it. It was my first time, and I may not have a chance to do this every year.

Looks like the sky is still in the sky.

Happy New Year!

Support Your Writer…

If you liked this article, please ❤ &/or follow.
My Tip Jar is at
http://www.paypal.me/VickiSNemeth

--

--

Vicki Nemeth
Intended Outcomes

I think I’m done here (for real: I haven’t participated in years). You can check out my freelancing at http://www.VickiNemethWriter.com