Worship Music

Vicki Nemeth
Intended Outcomes
Published in
1 min readMay 23, 2017

Psalms, hymns and spiritual songs
from the land of the free and the home of the brave
When Momma goes to church, she really sings
When she comes home she abandons her little ones

O! what do I do? Stand by and observe
how you go around the world starting wars
deposing leaders you say are unjust
favouring unjust leaders who pay you
(Every one of them takes a bribe.)
you make void earth
for tribal gangs to take the land

The hymns come from you. What shall I listen to?
When we carry on singing your songs
we prepare mercy for a remnant of you
when you are the ones who seek shelter.
The Lord cares not for your Christian music labels
compared to your love for your neighbour,
especially when you say you love the Lord.

Jesus! What shall I listen to? Did their music really come from You?

Thank you for reading

If you like this poem, please ❤ &/or follow
If you want to support my poetry, please donate at Paypal.me/VickiSNemeth

--

--

Vicki Nemeth
Intended Outcomes

I think I’m done here (for real: I haven’t participated in years). You can check out my freelancing at http://www.VickiNemethWriter.com