Why the Year of Depth is Something You Need to Follow

How it can change your life

Shailaja V
Intentional and Creative Affluence
5 min readJul 6, 2021

--

Photo by Robert Bye on Unsplash

The year of depth is something I personally believe in and consciously aim to practice with more intention regularly. I first came across this term in the beginning of 2019, although David Cain had actually floated the idea towards the end of 2017.

In it, he talks about how we’re always constantly overwhelmed by chasing every new thing out there, instead of digging our heels in and focusing on what we already have.

After you’re established in your career, and you have some neat stuff in your house, you take a whole year in which you don’t start anything new or acquire any new possessions you don’t need. No new hobbies, equipment, games, or books are allowed during this year. Instead, you have to find the value in what you already own or what you’ve already started. You improve skills rather than learning new ones. You consume media you’ve already stockpiled instead of acquiring more. You read your unread books, or even reread your favorites. The guiding philosophy is “Go deeper, not wider.”

-David Cain

He even did a follow-up post at the end of 2018, recounting how 2018 was his best year ever.

David’s idea of a Depth Year is simple, in principle; but it’s challenging in a world of constant distractions and diversions.

I remember choosing Depth as my word of the year for 2019. Then, in mid-2019 I wrote a post detailing my thoughts, six months into my year of depth experiment.

My Experience with the Depth Year in 2020

Almost unconsciously, I began to practise the Depth Year in the middle of 2020. With the pandemic on one hand and my business floundering on the other hand, it was time for me to re-assess where I was headed.

So I took the time to declutter everything in my business that wasn’t serving me and decided to start anew. Newsletter subscriptions, courses, social media accounts — I went on an unfollowing spree. This was to give myself more time to think and process ideas on my own strength, without being influenced by all the noise coming at me from different directions.

Where I had been trying to grow my business, I stopped. Instead I went back to my first love — writing. I began to write, a lot.

Between July and August 2020, I published a post for 21 days on the trot on Medium. It was the drive I needed to get my head back in the game.

At the same time, I started focusing on following the principles taught by just one person — George Kao — my coach and mentor.

Finally, I started sharing my Medium content on my active social media channel (Instagram) consistently.

And . . . that’s it. I didn’t do anything else.

Within 6 months, the most incredible thing began to happen. My business turned around.

In June 2020, I considered shutting down my solo-run business.

By January 2021, I was filling my client calendar every week.

The one thing that helped?

Consistency and deep work. Showing up every single day to do the work.

In just the last few months of 2021, I have loved how slow living and intentional living are shaping every bit of my day-to-day interactions. With what I know now, I’d like to suggest how the concepts of the Depth year can be applied by us all.

Starting a mini-version of the Depth Year

If a year sounds like too long, how about we start with 40 days instead? In every religion that I know of, the 40/41 days concept is something that is associated with abstinence and a sort of penance.

In South India, Sabarimala devotees undertake the 41-day fast and walk through the hills and plains to reach the shrine of their Lord Ayyappa.

In Christianity, Lent is the season when people are asked to process what they already have and let go of something that they no longer need or can do without. This too is for 40 days.

How can we adapt this, as creators, business owners and social media users?

What if we decided not to do anything new or fancy for the next 40 days?

What if we were to go deeper instead of wider?

How to Go Deeper

There’s so much emphasis on why we need to do more, be more and achieve more.

I would like you to take a deep breath and repeat a conscious intention to yourself today

That awareness is the understanding that what you already have is enough. You’ve read enough, you’ve consumed enough, you’ve studied enough.

Now it’s time to put those principles into action.

For the next 40 days, try one of these things:

  • Stop consuming any fresh content
  • Stop downloading any new apps to your phone
  • Stop buying new books

Instead, take the time to:

  • Read a book that you already have
  • Create content based on what you already know
  • Work on a single course that you’ve purchased and which is sitting on your hard drive
  • Gently evaluate why you have a particular app and if you still need it

Expand on the Concept of Depth

In addition, try this: Pick up a hobby that you’ve neglected and go deeper into it.

  • Read 5 pages of a paperback everyday
  • Write for 5 minutes daily
  • Practice your music for 15 minutes daily

Takeaway

The deeper we go in doing things we already have access to, the more joy we find.

You don’t need to buy more, be more, and feel more. You are already the best version of yourself. Go deeper and find that stillness within.

--

--

Shailaja V
Intentional and Creative Affluence

Digital minimalist. Writer. Bibliophile. Vegan. Walking is my meditation. More about me: https://shailajav.com/about-shailaja-2/