On Conversations, Serendipitous Discovery and Ambient Decisions

⚈ Amit Deshpande
The Interface
Published in
3 min readJul 16, 2015

--

From the time cave paintings were a rage, humans have tried to express their views and have looked for that nod of approval from their fellow beings. It has always been about being able to share, get an opinion, learn, grow and becoming better. Language is primal. You want to be understood. You want to listen, be heard and know that someone’s around the corner.

“Are you wearing Davidoff Cool Water? Nice.”

Now if we keep the part about who asked that question aside, I was pleasantly surprised by the spontaneity of the question. Not only did it tell me a thing or two about someone else who likes aqua scents with citrus undertones, it felt like something more. Like a Thumbs-up. The conversation was cut short because of an upcoming engagement, but I could imagine where it could go.

“Yeah, it’s been a favourite. Apart from Azzaro Chrome, that is.”

“Chrome is a bit metallic smelling I think, Acqua Dí Gio is more my thing.”

“Have been meaning to try something new, will check Acqua Dí Gio, Thanks!”

Boom. I’ve discovered a new thing.

“You’re going to love the texture, I bet!”

I couldn’t believe the hostess actually meant it. Out of the 6 odd desserts, this one looked like a regular chocolate truffle of some sort.

“There’s a far-eastern mystery taste bomb, inside.” She added.

I shrugged. I was beginning to get curious with all the details. By the way, I forget what it was called, but It had a chocolate exterior, a crunchy middle and a mild wasabi core. I *expletive removed* loved it. If it weren’t for the nuances, the details that helped me make a decision and pick it up, I would never have discovered this killer forgot-the-name-but-never-the-taste ball of awesomeness.

The new era of conversational experiences is just that — Discovery and Enabling Decisions. Ambient, omnipresent and comforting. Feel at home.

We’re beginning to change the way humankind discovers things and makes smarter decisions. The future is a journey, not a destination. See you there!

__________

⚫ Catch up? You should follow me on Twitter.

I’d love to hear what you’ve discovered recently and how, and what nuances help you make decisions in different contexts. If you have ideas, would love to catch up and discuss.

Originally published at www.linkedin.com.

--

--

⚈ Amit Deshpande
The Interface

@quickzen — Experience Strategist. Urban Nomad. Art, wine, music lover. Lucid dreamer. Observer. Experimenter.