MacOS (High Sierra) vs Windows (10)

Abhiroop Cvk
Interaction Design Studio 2018
3 min readSep 15, 2018

It’s been about a month and a half since I’ve gotten and very religiously used my new MacBook Pro 2018 15", it’s about time that I document my impressions on the Mac system.

*Full disclosure, this would be the first time I used/owned a MacOS system, and I’ve lived, worked, and played on Windows all my life up till this point. Also, I’m not going to be referring to the hardware, since that would make for too much content.*

Macbook Pro 2018 15"

My initial impressions of MacOS, vs Windows, are that it is a lot more uniform in the styling. The UI is a lot more consistent. Windows felt like it was almost all over the place in comparison with MacOS. I definitely do not like the weird blue that Windows starts off in while loading/initializing, it gives me too much of BSOD (blue screen of death) vibes — if you don’t know what that is, good for you.

The installation took just as long, or it at least felt that way, so nothing to be said there.

Once it loaded, my favourite thing about it immediately, was how because I had an iPad connected to Wifi, my Macbook now immediately also connected to the Wifi. In fact, it connects to Wifi everywhere my iPad had once connected and saved passwords for. That’s crazy!!!! Windows never did that for me, not even within computers that I had explicitly set up to be ‘part of the same family group’.

Once it fully loaded up, the desktop seemed a lot cleaner. There was no clunky windows menu that popped at me, or Cortana yelling at me to enable her. The dock seemed like a really good replacement for the Windows Menu.

You might have already noticed that I’ve instantly turned into an Apple fanboy, but I would just want to mention that I was super anti-apple till I laid my hands on this MacBook, and since, I really cringe every time I’m on my desktop. Why does the control button be so far away, instead of simply having a command button where the thumbs already are? Why is there no ‘cmd + f” finder function (windows menu search is NOT the same)?

I can now also move files without having to close them first!? I can drag applications to the trash, and they’re very cleanly uninstalled just like that!?? This was some sorcery…

And this has kept going. A month and a half in, I’m still continuously amazed as to how much smoother things are on MacOS, it is truly the better OS in terms of UX. Yes, you can’t realllllyyyy game on MacOS, and yes you don’t have every torrent easily available for you on macOS as you did on Windows, but I’ve heard and read a lot about how installing Windows (boot camp) on a Mac works better than getting a PC and running Windows. I haven’t tried this, and that gets into more hardware than software, so we shan’t sidetrack, and many more applications that I need as an artist and designer (Logic, Final Cut, Sketch, Framer etc) are Mac proprietary, and I don’t really plan on gaming on a laptop anyways (that’s why my baby, the desktop monster rig is for). In any case, I did download and run League of Legends on my Mac, and it worked just fine. So did DOTA and Starcraft. That’s about all the games I plan on PC most of the time, and I didn’t have any issues.

In summary, MacOS has relentless been showing me how much better and smoother and simpler my life could have been all these years. And I damn regret not listening to the other Apple fanboys sooner.

--

--

Abhiroop Cvk
Interaction Design Studio 2018

Co-Founder & COO @ Sophire. Designer by day, artist by night.