What we’re reading right now, what we’re halfway through, and what’s on our literary to-do list.

This list also functions as a great gift guide.

Interbrand Australia
IQ: by Interbrand Australia
4 min readSep 3, 2020

--

Ash Stapleton, Senior Strategist

Where the Crawdads Sings
Delia Owens
Just finished! Part-mystery, part-love story, part-escape to nature, part- maddening, ridiculously engrossing.

Elanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Gail Honeyman
Just started this… and am
late to the party on it. An awesome character whose
offbeatness and cringey awkwardness drew me in. I’m getting the sense it’s going to devastate me soon.

Homo Deus
Yuval Noah Harari
Still reading. I’ve been meaning to read it for ages. it makes you consider the role of humans in this crazy new world.

Katherine Fischer, Writer

Most of my half-read books live in the kitchen (a place with a surprising amount of downtime). But now I’m nowhere near my kitchen, so I’m going to go with the books sitting at my desk.

The Little Red Writing Book
Mark Tredinnick

I did a short writing course with this guy, and have the book to prove it. He’s got a background in poetry, so he’s really good for writing things that sound great when spoken. It’s also the reason you’ll find me at work on most days muttering to myself in a corner.

Slouching Towards Bethlehem
Joan Didion

I made a point of reading almost everything by Joan Didion, because I love her. Also I am now expertly qualified to roll my eyes whenever some critic describes literally every female essayist as “the next Joan Didion”.

The Copy Book
D&AD

This basically defines what writing for design can be. And at a healthy 368 pages, there’s enough inspo in here for every day of the working year. Beats a ‘Hang in there, baby’ wall poster (but only just).

Angela Pavlak, Senior Project Manager

A Tale of Love and Darkness
Amoz Oz
A memoir about growing up in war-torn Jerusalem in the ’40s, during the creation of the independent Arab and
Jewish States.

Chaos: Charles Manson, the CIA, and the Secret History of the Sixties
Tom O’Neill

This book is the result of two decades of interviews, investigation, and reporting from journalist Tom O’Neill, who dives deep into the Manson murders and uncovers some shocking new revelations.

Maxwell Hogue, Junior Strategist

Doing good better
William Macaskill
This has been sitting half-read on my shelf for six years .Written by the co-founder of the Effective Altruism movement, it’s all about a practical, data-driven approach to being altruistic, instead of just doing what feels good.

The Bhutanese Guide to Happiness
Gyonpo Tshering
Top tier quotes from the world’s happiest nation. Shoutout to Mum for such
a nice gift.

Stop Listening to the Customer… Try Hearing
Your Brand Instead
Adam Ferrier
Adam’s latest, aesthetically pleasing book is a recent addition to my bookshelf. One chapter down so far.

David and Goliath, Underdogs, Misfits, and the Art of Battling Giants
Malcolm Gladwell
On my third reading. Anyone at Interbrand can tell you about my love for Malcolm.

I Before E, Except after C: Spelling for the Alphabetically Challenged
Dr Laurie E Rozakis
Another well-meaning gift
from Mum. Fair game, too, considering the state of my
text messages.

Amanda Szylo-Duncan, Strategy Director

Fair Play: A Game-Changing Solution for When You Have Too Much to Do (And More Life to Live)
Eve Rodsky
This has been on my bedside table for a few months… the irony is I can’t find time to finish it. Rodsky discusses the mental, emotional, and domestic load that comes with having a family. She then gamifies the approach to being more efficient and equitable, using cards across multiple suits: Home, Out, Caregiving, Magic, Unicorn Space, and Wild. My 21-year-old self is rolling her eyes at me right now. My future self is saying, “Hurry up and finish it already!”

A Discovery of Witches
Deborah Harkness
I watched the series and absolutely loved it. Think witches, vampires, and a little bit of time travel, for good measure. Whilst the wait for Season Two continues, I thought I’d give the books a try.

Your Strategy Needs a Strategy: How to Choose and Execute the Right Approach
Janmejaya Sinha, Knut Haanaes, and Martin Reeves

An old colleague/friend recommended this to me (thanks Katie!), as I found myself soul-searching during lockdown. I’ve now finally gotten my hands on it. It breaks down five strategic approaches and how to apply them — seems like a solid foundation so far.

Normal People
Sally Rooney
I know I’m late to this party. But it was well worth the wait. It’s raw, it’s intense, it’s emotional. Someone pass me the popcorn.

--

--

Interbrand Australia
IQ: by Interbrand Australia

Brand-led business transformation, so brands can make Iconic Moves. Find out more at www.interbrand.com/au or say hello@interbrand.com.au