Starlight

Dreedwhittaker
MarieAnne and Friends
8 min readSep 30, 2021

--

Prompt was the picture. I had the tent with two new lovers and a starry night.

No credit for this photo. It was a prompt at WDC.

“It’s marvelous,” said Sue, wrapping her sleeping bag around her. “It’s everything you said it was.” She turned to Sam. “Thank you.”

“You’re welcome,” said Sam, grinning. “I knew you would like it. Worth the hike?”

Sue laughed, turning to Sam. “The hike, your bad cooking, a one-ton pack, and being chased by a bear.”

“We weren’t chased by a bear. It was a porcupine, and they move slower than turtles.”

“You say porcupine, and I say bear. Probably the biggest bear ever.” She turned back. “Yes, for all of that, it was worth it.” She turned to look at Sam. “You ever brought anyone else up here?”

Sam shook his head. “No, you’re the first. Not everyone can outrun a porcupine.”

“Is that the only reason?”

“No, I wanted to know you better. I thought this might be a way.”

“Learn what?”

“Learn how you deal with adversity. I knew you weren’t a hiker, and this was a strenuous hike…”

“Strenuous? Hell, Everest would be a walk around the block compared to this Bataan Death March you put me on.”

“And yet you went. How do you like Bataan?”

--

--