Can theology cause C-PTSD? a case study

Emily Hedrick
Interfaith Now
Published in
9 min readFeb 2, 2020

--

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

This article was originally two different blog posts from Emily’s website that can be found here.

Part 1: The Case in Question

When I was 9, I began a year and half’s daily meditation on hell and the preservation of dried pasta.

How did this happen, you ask? Somehow I became convinced of a certain theology which I will relay to you in the following pictures:

image created by author

Regardless of whether one is familiar with this system, it’s a very traumatic foundation for one’s outlook on life — especially, in my opinion, for a 9-year-old. But I’m not finished yet. There is hope. It looks like this:

image created by author

Now from what I gathered in my 9 years, there was a magical formula for acquiring the Eraser Jesus:

confessing my sin + believing in Eraser Jesus = free ticket to heaven!

Beyond the fact that this whole system is based on fear and my relationship with heaven and hell rather than with God, it…

--

--

Emily Hedrick
Interfaith Now

Recovering ex-pastor turned Midwestern life coach. Lover of cheese.