Don’t Tell Me God is Not Real

My personal transformation

Thomas E. McDaniels
Interfaith Now

--

I don’t remember the first time I went to church. I felt like I was raised at the church.

I do remember several defining moments while in church. As a small child, I remember standing up in the pew in my mother’s arms.

A quartet was singing on stage. The year was 1960. There were five guys in white suits with white shoes on the stage.

I remember having this inner knowing that one day I would stand on a church stage and sing. I remember saying to myself, “I’m going to do that.” From that day on, I always knew that I would be a singer or a preacher.

Let’s fast forward a few years. I left the church at 17 years old and entered a spiral of negativity and sin.

My darkness

Everyone has a dark side.

As the Scriptures say, “No one is righteous — not even one. (Romans 3:10, NLT)

As a teenager, I decided to discover my dark side. It was not pretty. The fact is, it was ugly and awful, even for me. It is one thing to sin. It is another thing to choose to sin and to sin big. This was the choice I made.

I was introduced to drugs and alcohol. I knew better than to loose my dark side…

--

--