How a Hijabi Gets a Haircut

AKA When your husband’s ex-wife is your last resort to look good.

HF Sylaj
Interfaith Now

--

Photo by Guilherme Petri on Unsplash

Allison J. van Tilborgh wrote a wonderful article a few months ago asking thought-provoking questions about how a Muslim woman who wears hijab handles getting her hair cut. Since I am such a Muslim woman, I thought I would give my personal experience in this area.

Skimping on Self-Care by Doing it by Myself

Until this last July I had not had a haircut I did not do myself for seven years. I have done all my own personal hair care out of necessity. I could not find a hair dresser that was willing to give me the privacy I need to insure no man could see my hair. Thankfully when I messed it up doing it myself, I didn't have to look like a fool since I get to cover it up!

I finally decided to give in and get it cut by a professional since we were going to Kosovo where I would meet my in-laws for the first time. I knew there would be times around my mother-in-law and sisters-in-law when I would have my hair uncovered, so I wanted it to look good for them, as well as for my husband.

Hijab Does Not Mean We Don’t Want to be Beautiful

--

--

HF Sylaj
Interfaith Now

American immigrant in Kosovo 🇽🇰 Creator, Traveler, and Chicken Mum. ❤ I am a writer, not an expert.