You Can’t Touch This

10 Truths even 2020 can’t change.

Ben Kay
Interfaith Now
3 min readOct 30, 2020

--

2020 has changed everything.

Every news station, Instagram page, and socially distanced Target checkout line seems to reinforce the exhausting truth that life as we knew it decided to take this year off.

The new norm that’s settled in has proven disorienting and ambiguous.

  • For starters, we all look like we just robbed a bank.
  • The whole country now knows what it feels like to be home schooled. I’m sure that’s exciting for all those high school seniors.
  • Watching the World Series felt weird and it wasn’t because the Dodgers finally won. I couldn’t help but ask what were all those real people doing in the stands?!
  • Churches and bars are closed.. and we’re all ok with this.. Where is the ACLU when you need them?
  • Mosh pits seem to be a thing of the past. That’s probably for the best.
  • I’ve had a realization: cancer isn’t going to kill me. Zoom will.
  • And, in case you were desperately trying to forget, the Presidential Election is Tuesday.

It would seem 2020 has changed everything about how we exist as human beings. The way we work, play, learn, celebrate, and mourn looks radically different than they did just 12 months ago.

At least, that’s how it feels.

A lot has changed. No one can deny that.

But in the midst of one of the most chaotic years in recent decades, I’d like to invite you to ask a simple question:

What hasn’t changed?

In a year unlike any other, what has remained the same? What’s true about you that no Pandemic or Presidential Candidate can shake?

I took the liberty to compile a brief list. It’s not exhaustive nor is it meant to be. But if anything, it’s reminded me of a few realities:

First, feelings are not facts. Just because I feel something doesn't mean it’s true. I’ve found this mantra to be a helpful counterbalance to the overwhelming chaos of this year. Feelings are good but facts will always be better. Why? Because facts are always true.

Second, regardless of what the rest of 2020 has in store — and I’m sure there’s more in store — there are still some things that are unshakable.

1: Love marches on. A few months into COVID, I facilitated the wedding ceremony for my younger brother and sister in law. It was an incredible reminder that love is an unstoppable force. 2020 never stood a chance.

2: Thanksgiving is the other big thing happening in November. True, there is that Election. But just a few weeks later, we get to eat turkey with the people who mean the most to us in this world. COVID or not, there is still a lot to be thankful for.

3: The Sun rose and set today. Like clockwork. I’m pretty sure it plans to tomorrow as well.

4: Oat Milk is worth the hype. My Italian Father who has taken half and half with his coffee for 40 years is now a believer. The Oat will win you over. Trust me.

5: Electricity and Running Water. Thank God.

6: Beer. Need I say more?

7: Season 4 of The Crown is the other other big thing happening in November. What’s better than turkey on Thanksgiving? Binging Season 4 of The Crown while eating Turkey on Thanksgiving.

8: The Internet. As the father of a one year old who’s obsessed with Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, this one seemed self explanatory.

9: Coffee, coffee, coffee.

10: Good people are still doing good in the world. I work for a Homeless Service agency in South L.A. Every day I have a front row seat to people helping people. There’s a lot of darkness in the world but my coworkers remind me that no matter how dark it gets, the future is still bright.

2020 has been an emotional roller coaster. If there was ever a year that feels like everything has changed and the sky is falling it’s this one.

But I challenge you to ask yourself that simple question and to be honest with yourself about the answer.

What hasn’t changed?

For this author at least, it’s become apparent there are still some things that even a year like 2020 just cant touch.

--

--

Ben Kay
Interfaith Now

Reactive Writer. Homeless Advocate. Practical Theologian.