Intergenerational Inspiration Q&A with Nita Sweeney, Author, Editor & Writing Coach

Andrea J. Fonte Weaver
Intergenerational Inspiration
4 min readJun 19, 2019

Grandparents can be the most wonderful and profound intergenerational relationships. I was delighted to interview Nita Sweeney about the impact of her grandparents as well as the multigenerational relationship she shared with her younger nieces. Below are highlights of our conversation which is inspiring, moving and purposeful.

1. Intergenerational relationships traditionally focus on people who are “skipped”, non-adjacent generations like grandparents and grandchildren. Have you had someone in your life from a different generation who greatly inspired you?

While my parents both worked hard, my father’s parents provided the legacy that runs in my blood. My grandparents ran a general store out of their garage in a rural Ohio village during the Great Depression. Their hard work, determination, and sense of fairness informed my childhood and continues to inspire me now.

Nita Sweeney with her grandfather, Hubert Buddelmeyer, celebrating his birthday. Photo credit: Eugene Buddelmeyer

2. What is something you enjoyed doing with them and what did you learn?

I was sixteen before I realized either of my grandparents had a sense of humor. They were serious Germans and I mostly “enjoyed” not getting in trouble when we visited. But they taught me hard work and even-handedness. All the children washed dishes after eating the fried chicken and mashed potatoes and we all went into the side laundry room to play until each of us was sixteen. No exceptions! My favorite memory is of coming downstairs early one morning and hearing my grandmother singing, “You spin me right round, baby right round!” When she heard me, she quickly switched off the radio, but we both had a good laugh. They were “old” but human. And the stories everyone told of how hard they worked to keep the store going made determination seem like an ordinary quality everyone just had.

Nita Sweeney drying dishes while her grandmother, Adelia Buddelmeyer, is at the sink. Photo credit: Eugene Buddelmeyer

3. How has this relationship continued to impact you? Is there something you do or a motto you follow in your personal or professional life that came from that intergenerational connection?

They had a scale in the general store. Every Christmas, Grandma made popcorn balls and molasses cookies. Before we left, she put out paper bags, one each for my cousins and I. After she filled a bag with goodies, she set it on the scale to make sure they were “even.” She never wanted any of us to think she loved the others more. I carry that sense of fairness as it reminds me to give generously and be aware of any subtle messages I’m sending as I do so.

Adelia Buddelmeyer (Nita’s grandmother) and Nita Sweeney. Photo credit: Eugene Buddelmeyer

4. Is there someone in your life now from a younger generation in which you have a special reverse-mentoring relationship? What types of experiences do you share together?

Until her death from osteosarcoma in 2007, my niece, Jamey served as a mentor. She was whip-smart and creative. I asked her for style advice and hair care suggestions. But mostly, I just enjoyed her humor. She was refreshing, stubborn, and caring all at the same time. My niece, Aliceson, also serves as a great mentor. She manages her own thriving business and a busy family. Watching her juggle life while living it to the fullest inspires me to be my best self.

Nita Sweeney holding her niece, Jamey Ax. Photo credit Amy Ax.

5. How do you encourage intergenerational relationships in your family, business or community?

Within the running community, I encourage new women and men in our pace group to be the best runners they can despite any real or perceived limitations. I’ve been “mentored” by women and men in their 20s as well as those much older than me. We give to each other. In writing and teaching writers, I use mottos about persistence and taking a long view. The younger writers remind me to stay open to new things and the older writers teach patience.

6. Is there a book, movie or piece of art that has reminded you about the importance and power of intergenerational inspiration?

First is Winter Wheat by Mildred Walker, a story of how family can impact a person’s life. The second is Natalie Goldberg’s memoir, Long Quiet Highway: Waking Up in America. Reading how teachers of all kinds shaped Natalie’s life reminded me of all the teachers in my own and helped me remember to thank each of them along the way.

7. How can our readers follow you and learn more about your work?

My website https://nitasweeney.com and my memoir, Depression Hates a Moving Target: How Running with My Dog Brought Me Back from the Brink. I’m always happy to chat about running, writing, dogs, meditation, and mental health issues. If I can do anything to inspire someone else to live their best life, it would be my honor.

Nita, thank you so much for sharing about your grandparents and the deep impact they had on you. I love the story about your grandmother singing and the laughter you shared. I also enjoyed the story about weighing your treat bags! Fairness at work! Thank you for all you do to help people live their best lives!

--

--

Andrea J. Fonte Weaver
Intergenerational Inspiration

Founder & Executive Director of Bridges Together (BT), a nonprofit that provides training and tools to improve multigenerational connections.