Intergenerational Inspiration Q&A with Shelley Callahan, Director of Development at Children Incorporated

Andrea J. Fonte Weaver
Intergenerational Inspiration
5 min readMar 5, 2019

Shelley Callahan started her career in the non-profit sector when she co-founded Books on Wheels, providing free books to children living in low-income neighborhoods. Her desire for helping children grew steadily when she followed her interests at Children Incorporated, which has helped over 250,000 children across 23 countries through programs and outreach projects. They provide impoverished children with basic needs such as food, clothing, and educational support in an effort to break the cycle of poverty and offer children a chance at a brighter future. Shelley lives her passion day in and day out helping facilitate and magnify the generosity of others. Below is our conversation

1. Intergenerational relationships traditionally focus on people who are “skipped”, non-adjacent generations like grandparents and grandchildren. Have you had someone in your life from a different generation who greatly inspired you?

Shelley Callahan with her grandmother (photo by Shelley Callahan)

My grandmother on my father’s side was a great inspiration to me since I was young. At an early age, she taught me to have fun and enjoy life to the fullest. I remember as a little girl she opened my eyes to seeing everything in life — nature, just driving in the car, going to the store — as having the potential for adventure. We stayed close to one another and saw each other often until she passed a few years ago. We spent a great deal of time together just chatting. I would often talk about school, and then eventually the jobs I was pursuing in the non-profit field once I graduated from college. As someone who herself had always donated to charity, she encouraged me in focusing on a career in philanthropy.

2. What is something you enjoyed doing with the person? What did you learn from her?

Drinking coffee and talking in her kitchen was always my favorite pastime with my grandmother. She loved hearing about my work with Children Incorporated — she would always ask what special projects we were working on and what areas we could most use her financial support. From these conversations, I learned the valuable lesson of always asking others what they need instead of making assumptions about how to help those in need.

3. How has this relationship continued to impact you? Is there something you do or a motto you follow in your personal or professional life that came from that intergenerational connection?

The best lesson my grandmother taught me was to show kindness to others in all situations. You never know someone is going through unless you have walked in his or her shoes. Even if a person is angry and not able to show you the same respect, it goes a long way towards helping them heal if you can show them compassion during a difficult time.

4. Is there someone in your life now from a younger generation in which you have a special reverse-mentoring relationship? What types of experiences do you share together?

I tutor a middle school-aged girl through a local non-profit near where I live. I love it when she asks me question that I know her teachers or parents don’t have the time to focus on to give her a full explanation. It’s nice to be able to offer her guidance, but also remind her that everyone is unique and it is OK to have different opinions about many things in life.

5. How do you encourage intergenerational relationships in your family, business or community?

Shelley Callahan with sponsored children in Sri Lanka (photo by Shelley Callahan)

Through my work with Children Incorporated, I get the opportunity to talk to people about how sponsoring a child is life changing for not only the children involved but also the sponsors themselves. Our sponsors often feel like extended caregivers for the children they sponsor — in fact, children in our program from Latin America call their sponsors “padrinos” which translates to godparents! We encourage people of all ages to sponsor kids to help them get the upper hand in life, and we have many sponsors that are retired grandparents themselves. I think with an older generation, they can offer a lot to young people. Whether it is words of wisdom or sharing experiences they have had throughout their lives, children from impoverished backgrounds can gain a lot emotionally and physiologically from their special relationship with their sponsor. Many times, a sponsor can show a child a world that offers a great deal of possibility and opportunities outside of their own.

6. Is there a book, movie or piece of art that has reminded you about the importance and power of intergenerational inspiration?

Dick and Barb Hammond Photo courtesy of Shelley Callahan

I wrote a book called the House of Life about the true story of a retiring couple named Dick and Barb Hammond decide to build a medical clinic in Haiti. For more than 30 years now, they have been bringing volunteers from the United States to their clinic to provide healthcare to the Haitian people, and along the way have influenced so many young people in their lives. I have volunteered at their medical clinic dozens of times in the last eight years, and they have taught me so much about persistence, drive, and hope for the future. They serve as an important reminder that it is never too late to chase your dreams.

7. How can our readers follow you and learn more about your work?

For more information on Children Incorporated, visit our website: https://childrenincorporated.org/ Additionally, I write the On the Road Series for Children Incorporated and post daily updates on Twitter @childreninc My book, House of Life can be found on my website: http://www.shelleybriggscallahan.com.

Shelley, thank you. Thank you for sharing about your grandmother. Thank you for all the work you do to improve the lives of children and their families. I really enjoyed learning about your grandmother — how she inspired you, taught you to enjoy the adventures of every-day life, to ask people for what they need and to always show kindness. Her empowerment of you and your career make my heart smile! I am sure she is smiling down on you. :) I look forward to reading The House of Life and learning more about Dick and Barb. Thank you again.

--

--

Andrea J. Fonte Weaver
Intergenerational Inspiration

Founder & Executive Director of Bridges Together (BT), a nonprofit that provides training and tools to improve multigenerational connections.