Intergenerational Inspiration Q&A with Susan Ogar, Photographer

Molly McMillan
Intergenerational Inspiration
4 min readDec 17, 2018

When it comes to portraits, Susan Ogar Photography captures the essence, spirit and love of the people involved. She takes the time to get to know her clients and then decides the setting, wardrobe choices, best time of day for light conditions, and more. A full-time photographer since 2007, Susan Ogar beautifully captures moments of individuals and families in Eastern and Central Massachusetts. We are proud she includes Bridges Together in her Giving Back program. Below is my conversation with Susan Ogar on her special intergenerational inspirations:

  1. Intergenerational relationships traditionally focus on people who are “skipped”, non-adjacent generations like grandparents and grandchildren. Have you had someone in your life from a skipped generation who greatly inspired you?

I’ve had the wonderful opportunity to have several people from a skipped generation who inspire me greatly. My mother’s parents, Joseph and Cecile, were loving grandparents and so much more. They were helpers, role models, and always a safe haven. Also, my grandfather’s brother, Anthony (everyone calls him Sonny) is the last of the generation. He celebrated his 90th birthday with my family two summers ago. He is my living link to that generation and he is great about staying in touch and encouraging me in art and my life endeavors.

Susan Ogar’s grandparents, Joseph and Cecile, on their 50th Wedding Anniversary
Photo Courtesy of Susan Ogar

2) What is something you enjoyed doing with them? What did you learn from them?

I loved spending time with my grandmother in any way I could. I would sometimes stay with Cecile and we would always talk in her small kitchen about travel and family, cook together or on a special occasion we would take the bus to Harvard Square. She was a good cook and would teach me her special recipes like her pumpkin chiffon pie and her baked rice. I actually have my favorite recipe written in her handwriting, posted above my computer so that I can see it each day.

3) How has this relationship continued to impact you? Is there something you do or a motto you follow in your personal or professional life that came from that intergenerational connection?

Both of my grandparents were active volunteers in their community. Cecile ran the gift shop at St. Elizabeth’s Hospital in Boston for many years — as a volunteer. I often visited her at the shop and learned the value of hard work. I’ve tried to always work hard and to give back to my community. As for a motto, that’s easy, Faith, Family, Friendship and Fidelity. This was the theme and motto by which my grandparents lived.

4) Is there someone in your life now from a younger generation in which you have a special reverse-mentoring relationship? What types of experiences do you share together?

My son Ryan and I both love traditions. I believe that I am passing down my love of traditions to both of my children. There are times that my son reminds me how important traditions and visiting with family is. Recently, on a rare day off from school, Ryan asked to drive up to see my parents (his grandparents) in Gloucester instead of spending time with friends.

Susan Ogar © with her grandmother Cecile (L), her mother Judy (R) holding her son, Ryan.
Photo Courtesy of Susan Ogar

5) How do you encourage intergenerational relationships in your family, business or community?

A huge part of my portrait business is photographing intergenerational families. It can be a challenge to get schedules together in order to book a portrait session with extended family, but wow, the results are so worth it. I love photographing families interacting and grandparents and grandchildren having small moments together. I find such joy in creating images of families and seeing the love through my lens.

An intergenerational family portrait taken by Susan Ogar Photo Credit: Susan Ogar Photography

6) Is there a book, movie or piece of art that has reminded you about the importance and power of intergenerational inspiration?

I loved watching The Sound of Music with my grandmother. She has roots in Vermont and had such affection towards the von Trapp family. I also keep 2 blue glass birds on the shelf in my kitchen as Cecile did in hers. When I asked her about them on a visit she told me that they are the Bluebird of Happiness. When I looked it up, I learned that bluebirds have long been known as a symbol of health, friendship, and happiness. They inspire us and others to live our lives to the fullest, while also serving as an emblem of what to be grateful for. Seemed like a perfect tribute to an amazing woman.

7) How can our readers follow you and learn more about your work?

Please come see me online at: Website: www.SusanOgarPhotography.com

Instagram: @susanogarphoto Facebook: @SusanOgarPhotography

--

--