Intergenerational Inspiration Q&A with Welcome W. Wilson, Sr, Chairman of Welcome Group, LLC,

Andrea J. Fonte Weaver
Intergenerational Inspiration
4 min readFeb 5, 2019

We sat down with Welcome W. Wilson, Sr., Chairman of the Board of Welcome Group, LLC, who has accomplished things many people only dream about. He has experienced success as an entrepreneur and entertainer, serving in the Navy and public service, a businessman, advocate and fundraiser. Welcome Wilson achieved success in all of these areas, met challenges, gained wisdom and mentored others. Below is our very exciting and meaningful conversation.

1. Intergenerational relationships traditionally focus on people who are “skipped”, non-adjacent generations like grandparents and grandchildren. Have you had someone in your life from a different generation who greatly inspired you?

Yes. I have been greatly inspired by my oldest grandson, David Proler, who is 46 years old. When David was 12 years old his uncle, Welcome Jr., and I gave him a computer. This was 34 years ago and no one including Welcome Jr. and me, had computers. I was startled by his zeal on the computer. Today, with no college education, David is a highly paid employee of American Insurance Group, at their National Headquarters in Houston.

David Proler with his grandfather, Welcome W. Wilson, Sr. Photo courtesy of Welcome W. Wilson, Sr.

2. What is something you enjoyed doing with the person? What did you learn from him or her?

I enjoy visiting with my grandson David. I have learned from him that determination makes all the difference in the world. Without a college education, his life has been a huge success, emotionally and financially. But it was his determination that made it happen.

3. How has this relationship continued to impact you? Is there something you do or a motto you follow in your personal or professional life that came from that intergenerational connection?

My father always said that success in business depends on guts and determination. When he said guts, he didn’t mean the guts to get into a fight, he meant the guts to go before somebody you never met before and make a pitch that is highly in favor of you. He always said that he thought that he lacked the determination needed for complete success. He always asked me to look to my mother, his wife, for the determination part of the equation. My relationship with David has greatly enhanced my own determination.

Welcome W. Wilson, Sr. with his grandson, David Proler Photo courtesy of Welcome W. Wilson, Sr.

4. Is there someone in your life now from a younger generation in which you have a special reverse-mentoring relationship? What types of experiences do you share together?

David does not hesitate to give me advise on any subject.

5. How do you encourage intergenerational relationships in your family, business or community?

I have 16 grandchildren and 16 great grandchildren, each year I pay for a trip of what we call Generation 3 and 4 (grandchildren and greatgrandchildren) too some beach front resort in the Caribbean or North Central and South America, so that my wife and I can interact with the group. This year we are going to Jamaica in July of 2019. I have a granddaughter and spouse along with two great grandkids who live in Australia, they will be going with us this year. Last year we went to Cancun, Mexico. Most of my children have grandchildren. I encourage them to be involved with their grandchildren through personal example.

L to R: David Proler, Joanne Wilson, Welcome W. Wilson, Sr., Michael Proler
Photo courtesy of Welcome W. Wilson, Sr.

6. How can our readers follow you and learn more about your work?

Your readers can read my book, Always Welcome, Nine Decades of Great Friends, Great Times & (Mostly) Great Deals. Or they can follow me on Facebook, where I post something daily. https://www.facebook.com/welcomewilsonsr/.

Thanks, Welcome, for taking the time to answer my questions and share some of your experiences. I appreciate and know the truth in your dad’s statements about “guts” and how fabulous that he advised you to look at your mom to understand what determination looks like! At Bridges Together, we talk about a circle of love — and experiencing the richness of intergenerational relationships and interdependence. You exemplify that! Your generosity in buying David a computer, fueled a lifelong passion. And your family trips — how awesome! We also advise grandparents to spend time with their “grands” without the middle (parent) generation! Thank you for pointing out the importance of that. I look forward to following you on facebook!

--

--

Andrea J. Fonte Weaver
Intergenerational Inspiration

Founder & Executive Director of Bridges Together (BT), a nonprofit that provides training and tools to improve multigenerational connections.