What I learned as an intern at Intel (part1)─ Trust

Dexter Chien
Career
Published in
4 min readMay 1, 2018

I joined Intel Cooperation and interned at the Non-Volatile Memory Solutions Group since March 2018. It is much amazing experience for me and I just want to record the things what I learned and impress me here. I expect to update the series every month.

In fact, I can’t believe myself passing the three rounds interview and receive this intern offer in February 2018. The total procedure took me about one month. I expect going industry after graduation rather than academic path. That is why I looked for the opportunity for intern. Therefore, I hope I could acquire the practical working experience for this long term internship , which could help me seek better career path.

I am astonished in different things for this intern every day. Perhaps, because I haven’t had any official working experience before, everything is novel for me. Therefore, I promised myself that I must progress every day,

Acquire the equipment on the On-Boarding Date ( Taiwan Headquarter)

I went back Taipei office for the on-boarding date, experiencing with own eyes the meticulous regulation for the international company. The visitors need to change two badges to acquire authorization for entering.

OK. Let’s go into the topic directly. I desire to share ”Trust ” in my first article of the series. I haven’t ever experienced this feeling deeply before this internship.

1. Because of you, we success

Intel believes a productive and challenging work environment is vital to the success. This requires an open, candid, and respectful approach to working with one another. Building trust and maintaining dignity are critical elements to increase more opportunity for maintaining leading. It is the most impressive that the supervisor told me “I am not sure what the working situation is in other place, but I think everyone here is willing to help each other, and just tell me how could we help you success.”in the first meeting. This concept is always haunted in my mind, which conveys every employee is seem as the precious treasure for Intel.

2. Seek out responsibilities that it is beneficial for company

In Taiwan, most tech company gives a lot of workload. These pressures cause the employees always spend all time handling things that supervisors ask for. However, Intel treats its intern like full-time employees. We are awarded more creative freedom and wider tolerance than we deserved originally. According to the “Value of Intel”, we are encouraged to spend 20% work time developing your task and 10% time thinking anything that you think it might be helpful for company. Flexible working environment and culture could inspire more euphoric idea and help establish more optimized business or tech model effectively.

3. Be courageous to convey your idea or problem.

Believe in yourself. You are braver than you think, more talented than you know, and capable of more than you imagine. Nobody has ability to predict the Potential for freshmen. Only if we immerse ourselves in the competitive and opening environment , could we progress and climb upon the peak of mountain. I think intern doesn’t limit to do the trival thing, and it is a decent chance to show your talent. Don’t be afraid to communicate with anyone for your question or idea. In intel, supervisor and employee will be serious to discuss with you no matter how young you are. So, I could convey my thinking to everyone directly. If the idea is available for the team, it will be adopted.

In addition, ask for tasks even if you think you’re unqualified. Maybe many people think I am stupid. However, it is even important for freshmen to have a chance to develop and refine their skills when they just began the career path. Therefore, I think be aggressive for anything is the crucial key to success.

Non-Volatile Memory Solutions Group (NSG) revenue grew 20 percent in Q1 as strong demand for storage continued. It is much appreciated for me to have precious chance to study here.

--

--

Dexter Chien
Career
Writer for

Tesla Software Engineer Intern| Taiwan | Former intern in Intel, WD| Software system enthusiast | LinkedIn:https://www.linkedin.com/in/minghsienchien/