Why I decided to study internationally

Charlie Xu
International Students
4 min readMay 11, 2017

--

My parents planned for me go to the Australia to study when I was a child, because they thought there has good weather and the environment, which were full of the Chinese people in Australia, were a good place to study. So, I prepared a lot of materials for going to the Australia to study, for example, I was studying the IELTS which was a professional test for the people who were planning to go to British commonwealth nations to study.

But, going to the U.S to study was my dream. There are two reasons.

First, I went to the U.S. to study I could see the NBA easily and conveniently. Most matches of the NBA begin every night in the U.S. Sometimes, the NBA games may begin in the afternoon during the period of playoffs. However, according to the jet lag between China and United States, most NBA games will show on television in the morning in China. Some fans of the NBA are students who are studying in the school and some business men who are working in the office. They have no time to see the NBA.

I like to watch the all-star games of the NBA. Every year, all-star games of the NBA ( NBA All-Star Celebrity Game, Taco Bell Skills Challenge, JBL Three-Point Contest, Verizon Slam Dunk, NBA All-Star Game) will take place on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. But those games always show on Saturday, Sunday and Monday in China. The NBA All-Star Game on Monday shows in the morning in China. I could not watch that game because I was in senior high school in China. If I went to the U.S, watching the NBA would be more convenient; I would not need to worry about the jet lag. In America, I could see those games at night, and see the NBA All-star game on Sunday night.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q3UcbPdsvlo Please start watching Michael Jordan speak at 3:46

The second reason is the Air Jordan shoes. The full name of Jordan is Michael Jordan. He is the greatest basketball player in the world. The video on the left was the first game on the television in which I saw Michael Jordan. This video shows that the 2003 NBA All-Star Game was the last All-Star Game of Michael Jordan. There was a female singer that sang a song to thank Michael Jordan. After her song, Michael Jordan did a speech about his retirement. In 2003, I was an eight-year-old kid who had never seen NBA games, and I was curious who that man was. After I researched, I knew he was Michael Jordan, and he was in the Chicago Bulls before 2000. He was one of the best players in the NBA.

The Air Jordan 11 Bred on Michael Jordan feet

While I was seeing the matches of Michael Jordan, I found his shoes — Air Jordan (AJ) was so beautiful, especially the Air Jordan 11 bred. The black covers half of the shoes. There was a white lane. The shoes sole was bright red. When I was in high school, I tried to buy a pair AJ, but there was no stores sold the AJ. I found a store, which called ‘XinXin’ that sold the AJ in another city when I saw magazine ‘DUNK’ (a book about shoes of NBA players). I took a train for two hours to buy a pair of shoes. In that store, I bought the Air Jordan 8, which was my first AJ.

My First Air Jordan Shoes — Air Jordan 8

In that store, I asked the shopkeeper of XinXin how I can buy a pair AJ. He told me I should bring your ID card and register in the ‘XinXin’ when you came to buy a pair shoes. You got a number after your register. The shopkeeper would drawing a number at 9 am at the day of releasing the AJ. However, people who came to buy the shoes could not got a pair of AJ. Because there was 500 people come to buy, but there were 80 pairs of AJ in the ‘XinXin’. In addition, this was a normal situation in China, because Chinese people was too much.

After I knew the situation of AJ selling in China, I decided to talk to my parents that I did not want to go to Australia, and I wanted to the Chicago to study, because the Michael Jordan was a player of Chicago Bull.I also told them that I wanted to a place for studying, where there were less Chinese people.

At the end, I realized my dream going to the U.S to study.

Next

--

--