Intern Story #10: Baishakhi’s Internship Experience @ GirlScript Foundation

Team InternClick
InternClick
Published in
4 min readNov 5, 2020

Baishakhi Chakraborty is a person who is positive about every aspect of life. One of her major passions in life is technology. She has done 10+ internships in the field of Development, Writing, and Marketing Research. She is pursuing Electronics and Communication Engineering enrolled in the 5th semester right now.

Presently she is an English and Profile Building (Student) Mentor in GirlScript YAY. She has a strong background in socializing together with creativity, enthusiasm, and commitment.

This blog is one part of my experience with the GS YAY Mentorship Intern program. I will primarily talk about the selection procedure in this blog and the remaining part of my experience virtual retreat will be covered eventually :)!

Application Process and Interview Experience

The applications started around the month of May.

In the first round, I had to fill up elaborate answers on my journey in the field of choices I am taking and along with that, I had to submit details of my academic scores in college.

Some of the questions which resonated with me and hence:

Why are you the best fit for the internship?

What excited you about GirlScript Foundation?

The answers eventually brought about my story which I wanted to put out through this program. Finally, on June 13th I got an email from Chinmay Mokhare on behalf of the GS team confirming my selection for the interview round that is Round 2.

I got a mail to choose a minimum of two slots for an interview.

The mail clearly specified that I would be asked questions about my application, my profile, leadership, and interest in technology.

The video call went smoothly with Mohit Jain, it was more like a friendly conversation than a serious interview. It was the perfect opportunity for me to share my journey. Another interesting thing that came up was when he asked me about how I can manage both studying and teaching at the same time being an Engineering Student. It honestly made me believe that any effort made at whichever stage in life isn’t small and insignificant.

And then finally after some days, I got this amazing and surprising mail of selection for the paid mentorship program:

This is the start of a long road full of more such opportunities and rewards!

The internship experience

The experience is quite nice. It was the first time when I was trying to do something different other than coding and development.

It gives immense pleasure when you can share your knowledge with others and explore yourself in different domains. As a budding student and Engineer, I felt we should always Believe that our opinions are strong enough and are worthy enough to be heard.

Our internship energetically started from the month of October and I started teaching Personality Development to all the interested candidates who joined my session.

You can see the website and my mentor profile here:

Advice to aspiring interns

As job competition rises in all industries, it can be hard for college students and fresh graduates with little experience to compete with those who have more skills, qualifications, and professional experience.

As a student or new graduate, applying for an internship can give you a head start in securing your dream job. Doing an internship and exploring multiple domains you can at least assure what is the best option for you. The day you get to know what you exactly want to achieve in your life nothing will be impossible. Always remember I CAN I WILL I SHALL and Glow on!!

Loved reading Baishakhi’s story? Show some love by clapping 👏 on the article! (did you know you can clap up to 50 times on a Medium blog?)

Sign up for our free weekly newsletter to get exclusive insights in your inbox

Have a story to share with 2000+ readers? Feel free to reach out to us.

Find us across the web on Instagram and Twitter

You may also want to read

We’ll see you in the next story! Ciao :)

--

--

Team InternClick
InternClick

We make your college life more happening through storytelling. Subscribe to get them in your inbox: bit.ly/intern-click. Tweet to us @internclick