INTERN STORIES

Intern Story #12: Anmol’s Strategy Internship @ Toppr

Team InternClick
InternClick
Published in
3 min readDec 7, 2020

--

Anmol is a final year undergrad at IIT Ropar, who interned with Toppr recently as the Summer Strategy intern. Before that, he has worked with Swiggy, ISB and a few other startups in Business/Product Roles and all were off-campus offers.

He’s an accident- survivor with multiple disabilities and still under the treatment since age of 7. He finds his interest in solving real-life problems through technical intervention during his tenure as leading Enactus, the international Social Entrepreneurship Society at IIT Ropar.

Application and Interview Experience

Remembering the experience due to low CGPA during the campus summer internship session, I decided to apply off-campus with whatever profile I had. After months of preparation and interviews, I got the offer from a leading Logistics Company at their Gurgaon Office.

But it was the time at the end of March when the pandemic had just started rising in India, and my offer got rescinded. This was the lowest I could have imagined.

But having seen struggles in life right from childhood to academics at IIT, I got an internal motivation to try again.

I started reaching to my various connections on LinkedIn for internship openings and got the opportunity to interview at Toppr, a leading Indian Edtech Firm.

The process was the resume-shortlisting round and then an Interview with the VP of Business. And I got the offer to work as a Summer Strategy intern, it was a remote intern during the pandemic.

Internship Experience as a WFH Intern

I remember my internship supervisor telling me, “Anmol, don’t try to go fast, go slow but far”! This is the best advice I could get. The culture at Toppr is the best I could experience, everyone is much respectful and open to other thoughts and ideas.

Since it was a WFH intern, so typically a day started with checking mail and communicating with supervisors about the progress. Then working on reading different market reports and analyzing the data. My project was on a new international market expansion.

I enjoyed my time there in terms of memories and learning business modelling and market research. You need to be open to learning new things.

Advice to aspiring interns

Advice is simple, Accept Life as it comes, complaining will not take you far!

With this rising market demands and competition, you need to stay updated with your field of interest, reading regularly is the key to it. Moreover if working remotely, master the art of communication.

If you are from some tier 2/3 college or someone having a low GPA in tier 1 college, you need to balance your profiles with multiple skill sets and work experience. It is never late to start but you should push yourself regularly.

Loved reading Anmol’s story? Show some love by clapping 👏 on the article! (did you know you can clap up to 50 times on a Medium blog?)

👋 We’ll see you in the next blog!

--

--

Team InternClick
InternClick

We make your college life more happening through storytelling. Subscribe to get them in your inbox: bit.ly/intern-click. Tweet to us @internclick