INTERN STORIES

Intern Story #14: Unnati’s Summer Internship @ Ernst & Young

Team InternClick
InternClick
Published in
5 min readDec 24, 2020

--

Unnati is a recent Bachelor in Management Studies (BMS) undergrad from Usha Pravin Gandhi College of Management, with a specialization in Finance. She is currently pursuing M.Com from Mumbai University.

Application Process

EY coupled with PwC, Deloitte, and KPMG come under the umbrella referent — The Big Four. Getting an internship in any of these Big 4 firms is subject to the channel through which you proceed. In my case, it came from a close contact, who helped me in getting to the doors of this opportunity at EY, and my resume was given for the screening process. I made sure that I had included all the relevant details about my previous internship experiences and the various responsibilities that I handled. My resume was shortlisted and I was called at the office for the Interview. I prepared for questions from the internet and read about the company culture and previous interview experiences. The interview lasted for 30 odd minutes and included general questions based on my resume and previous internships. The interview went well, and I was hopeful. The next day itself I received confirmation about my hiring and was asked to report at Ernst and Young’s Dadar office.

Getting an opportunity to intern at EY in itself is a great opportunity since you get to have an internship in one of the Big 4 Consulting firms, a firm that has marked its place amongst the top companies. Thus, the experience of not just interning at EY but also the journey to reach EY for internship also counts.

With my internship at EY, I was looking forward to attaining an irreplaceable experience — one which would change my outlook towards work life.

An awesome resume gets you an interview, and a successful interview gets you an offer.

The Internship Experience

There are multiple teams in Ernst & Young and the work you do depends on the team you are assigned to. The work environment in Ernst and Young is excellent. You get an opportunity to interact with some of the most intelligent and helpful co-workers, who are ready to assist you in whatever work you are involved in.

Since I was a part of Tax, I was placed under the Foreign Portfolio Investors (FPI) team under the guidance of Manager, who was also my mentor GovindSwamy Nadar who is the manager of the Foreign Portfolio Investors (FPI) Team, Mumbai. Each employee had to complete a minimum of 9 hours on a daily basis, irrespective of the time he/she enters. I used to complete my college and then go to the office. My timings usually ranged from 12:00 pm to 9:00 pm from Monday to Friday. My internship was of 2 months i.e. From 27th of May, 2019 to 31st of July, 2019.

The internship started with a formal two-day induction program where all the interns and new joinees were introduced to EY- its Leadership, Service Lines and Mission, etc. This was followed by a great lunch each day. After this, we were allotted mentors and buddies who would ensure that we didn’t face any difficulty during our tenure in the firm.

Initial two weeks were very relaxed. Then followed work in full swing. I began to get a flavour of how consulting career would be. The office became my new home, and colleagues turned to friends with whom I could have log chit-chats and coffee table discussions. Thus, despite the work hours being hectic, my buddy and colleagues ensured that we did not fall for the ‘all work no play’ kind.

A challenging but rewarding learning experience, my internship at EY has cemented my foundation necessary for a corporate environment. The work-life balance may be hectic, but it inculcates into you a lesson of time management.

The one with the team
The one with the mentor and other interns

Advice to aspiring interns

1. Working in a professional setting for the first time can be difficult to get used to. But it is the best way to learn how to navigate the working world through real-life, hands-on experience. One of the most valuable skills you will gain from an internship is the ability to speak with people in a professional setting. Discussions with bosses or coworkers are different from discussions with lecturers or fellow students.

2. Don’t underestimate yourself; make sure you make the most of your internship and take advantage of all the opportunities that come with it. Also, unglue yourself from your desk every once in a while and get to know other interns. Not only will you end up creating great memories and making friends, but you will widen your professional network.

3. Be proactive, and if you are invited to work functions introduce yourself to people. This is the only way people will know who you are and what you’re all about and most importantly — remember you.

4. Always work hard even if your task is small and seems unimportant. It will help you build a good work ethic, and people will notice the effort you put in. It’s not nice being told what to do all the time, but your superiors (mostly) know better. Following the instructions they give you makes it easier for everyone.

5. Often, we think being spoon-fed is the way to learn, but working independently has proved to be very important. Your internship will teach you to make my own decisions and do things on your own. Being able to work independently with little guidance is very important in the working world.

--

--

Team InternClick
InternClick

We make your college life more happening through storytelling. Subscribe to get them in your inbox: bit.ly/intern-click. Tweet to us @internclick