INTERN STORIES

Intern Story #16: Aastha’s Content Marketing Internship @TBS Planet

Team InternClick
InternClick
Published in
4 min readJan 24, 2021

--

Aastha Tapaswi is a recent graduate from Medicaps University, Indore interned thrice during college: TBS Planet comics in my 2nd year, IIIT Bangalore(3rd year), Finly(4th year). She calls herself a life-long Learner.

In this exclusive conversation, Aastha shares about her internship at TBS Planet Comics. It is a content-tech startup and works on developing the Indian comic industry.

Application Process

So, there are certain procedures and mindset required for Internship applications. I’ll involve all the procedures which I followed here.

The first and foremost step is to find contacts and sources. Do not directly start applying, collect the sources, email ids, contact nos. In an excel sheet. Maintain an organized data. This will help you to track your applications.

For eg, if you want to go for a research internship, you can find the email IDs of specific professors on the respective university websites. Choose where you want to intern, visit the university websites, copy and paste the email ids in an excel sheet. Similarly, if you want to work in a startup or company, visit the company’s LinkedIn, Facebook pages to find if they’re hiring.

So, I visited TBS Planet’s company page on Facebook and found that they’re hiring for various roles. I applied for Business Development and Marketing Partnerships role. Keep in mind that your resume, LinkedIn, and other internship profiles are up to date because professionals do visit your profiles for background checks.

Interview Experience

  1. Resume Shortlisting: I made sure that my resume was updated with the latest standards. This helped me to clear this stage. Sometimes, companies might use ATS(Applicant Tracking System) to filter out resumes, In this case, if your resume is not relatable or updated according to the requirements of the company, your resume might get disqualified. Bigger companies generally use ATS to filter out the resumes as they won’t read out all the 1000 resumes they’ve received.
  2. Telephonic Interview Round 1: In this interview, I was asked different technical questions related to the company and the profile. Also, they tested my problem-solving mindset by giving various case studies. You must know about the company to which you’re applying. After 3 days, I got to know that I was selected.
  3. Telephonic Interview 2 (By the Founder): This was a kind of HR interview, where I was asked to introduce myself, my weaknesses, and my strengths. Also, my communication skills were tested. Moreover, I cleared this round as well and was called to IIT Roorkee for the Internship.

The internship experience

(Day in the life as an intern, learnings)

I have no words for the experience. When you leave your comfort zone for the first time and move out it’s pretty difficult to adjust yourself. But my colleagues and seniors made me very comfortable working there. I was nervous on the first day and being from a mediocre college, I felt very inferior working with the IITians, but trust me interning and living at IIT is amazing.

The environment on the campus pushes you to grow and evolve. Everybody around you is passionate about something, which lights up a fire in you. In my internship, I was involved in the Content Marketing part, In the morning I used to work and in the evening I and my colleagues used to walk around the campus. Interning at IIT, gave me amazing seniors who are just one call away when I need them.

Learnings: Networking is important. I met various highly qualified professors, founders, and students who helped me in increasing my knowledge and gaining hands-on skills.

Also, when you intern at a startup or internship, you get to know the actual market and industry. So, it’s important that you start interning from a very young age. From a personality point of perspective, it has made me professionally social.

Advice to aspiring interns

Everybody is different, at times we feel that what our classmates are doing, we can’t do it. But it’s wrong. Go for different internships in your college time to know your desire and nature of working. It’ll also make you multitasking and multi-talented. You might not get an internship for the first time, easily, but don’t lose hope. And most importantly, go out of your city to intern, you’ll learn to live alone and adjust to diversity. It makes you responsible.

I would suggest finding paid internships more often because it’ll make you serious about your job and value your work and manage yourself at a very young age. But, initially, unpaid internships are also good to go.

Loved reading Aastha’s story? Show some love by clapping 👏 on the article! (did you know you can clap up to 50 times on a Medium blog?)

Follow us on Twitter — @internclick

We’ll see you in the next one!

--

--

Team InternClick
InternClick

We make your college life more happening through storytelling. Subscribe to get them in your inbox: bit.ly/intern-click. Tweet to us @internclick