IC STORIES

Intern Story #7: Trushant’s remote internship @ e-Yantra, IIT Bombay

Team InternClick
InternClick
Published in
6 min readAug 20, 2020

--

Trushant is a pre-final year undergrad at Babaria Institute of Technology. In this blog, he shares his experience of remotely interning at e-YSIP, which went online due to the pandemic.

Being one of the finalists for eYRC, we were going to have our finals in March-end but due to COVID-19, it got postponed. You can check my journey through eYRC here. One of the key attractions was that winners of eYRC will get internship opportunities after selection on the basis of interview. But as of COVID-19, I thought this year I won’t be able to join it.

But in the first week of April, I received an email stating that eYSIP is going to happen this year and e-Yantra have decided to go remote this time. I got very excited but was a bit confused about how it might turn out. This was my first internship in my undergraduate and that to it was going to be remote now. Still, I was not selected and there was a long way to go before getting it.

So, the interviews started on the 21st of April, and to be more prepared I took the slot which was furthest. But if I could do over that, I might opt for first because there is more surprise and excitement there. Nevertheless, on the 25th of April, I was having my interview, I was prepared and in the afternoon it started at about 4. This was one of the most amazing experiences that I ever had and in that, I was given the option at the end to select one domain in which I want to work. Those who don’t know this that e-Yantra is spread in almost all domains and you can find amazing people here, by the end of this blog you will come to know why I am saying this.

And I forgot to tell you guys that basically there are multiple ways through which you become eligible for this internship program. I was a finalist of eYRC so we had one more interview before my solo one and this was a group interview on the 6th of April wherein all the team members were scrutinized on the basis of the work they have done in eYRC in past 6 months. This was also an amazing experience and this leads me to my solo interview. For more information check out my blog on eYRC here.

eYSIP Poster (Non-offcial)

On the 12th of April, I remember this very well that I was working on my research project and at that time thought of checking my email. Yes, I finally got in and this was really breathtaking. My first ever remote internship with e-Yantra.

So, basically our internship commenced on 8th of May and now the fun began. I was having a team of 5 members, 2 mentors, and one senior mentor. I opted for a project in web development as I wanted one internship experience in that and I had recently completed my UI/UX designing basics and web stack basics.

One of the most amazing parts was our point of communication was discord. In this COVID-19 time discord is being used by many communities and gamers but this was the first time where an entire internship is being handled here. The first day was astonishing where we were given brief about our project and then we started working on it.

Also, one thing was that we were given iteration deadlines and that helped us to be on a track. Throughout our entire internship, we had 2–3 presentations in front of all the interns, mentors, and other experts from different areas. This all was done under the supervision and guidance of Kavi Arya sir and we all are very thankful to you sir for making this possible.

Also, git became like a daily friend and I cultivated a habit to work on it on a daily basis. One of the challenges we thought that we might face was all the team members were at remote locations then how would we work together. But that was not an issue, our mentors were having scheduled google meets with us and they guided us all the way through.

Also what eYSIP provided us was a way to bond with other team members. Like on the basis of the domain there were different groups and there were inter-group activities wherein we were given a specific time and in that, we were supposed to create a presentation on the topic which would be scrutinized by experts. This was really mesmerizing in how short time we all from interns became a community and more of a family.

Every 3–4 days we were having meets and talks from amazing experts like Kalind Karia, Dr. Rathin Biswas, Admiral Anil Chopra, Dr. Ajit Ranade, Kalpit Mankikar, Dr. Parul Tank, P.V. Subramanyam, Dr. Sriram Srinivasan, Kiran Deshpande, Prof. Ragunath Iyer, Prof. Paritosh Pandya, and Prof. Sudha Shastri. As you can see this long list, not only we had met with them but we were also given time for open discussion and this was one of the most rewarding parts of the internship. I have learned a lot from this internship not only about the project or the technologies which I was working on but about life and well-being too.

Also, surprises are yet to come, after completion of the internship we need to demonstrate our project right. I had my first virtual project exhibition on discord and really guys this was not very different from one we have except we can’t see each other. And to organize and make it happen was a very difficult task. Kudos to Arjun Sadanand, Aditya Panwar, and the entire e-Yantra team for it.

My eYSIP Team 2020

I also thank Sanyam Raj and Vijay Chachadi who have been an amazing team member and hope to meet you guys someday. Also, thanks to Deepa Mam who was our mentor and helped us out whenever we got stuck. And thanks Sachin Sir for guiding us. Apart from them, there were numerous mentors who have helped us thank you everyone for this experience and opportunity. Hope to see you all someday.

And after this internship on the basis of my performance in eYantra, right now I am Junior Project Technical Assistant and also an eYIOP Intern for an international outreach program.

Loved reading Trushant’s story? Show some love by clapping 👏 on the article! (did you know you can clap up to 50 times on a Medium blog?)

Have an internship story to share? Feel free to reach out to us.

We will get back to you!

Support our work if you like what you read!

--

--

Team InternClick
InternClick

We make your college life more happening through storytelling. Subscribe to get them in your inbox: bit.ly/intern-click. Tweet to us @internclick