Getting Started in the World of Design

Sabrina Hall
Interned Up
Published in
2 min readDec 9, 2016

In the past month, I’ve had a reoccurring question about getting into the field of design: Where do I begin?

UX/UI Designers come in many shapes and forms, and all start at different points in their career. Technology, psychology, and design all mashed into one…should be easy enough, all I have to do is head over to Internships.com and type in “UX design intern” and boom…right? Wrong. I’ve looked for internships in my area (most require prior experience with software that has back-breaking prices for the average college student), research team positions (which, again, requires experience with expensive software), and searching for extra classes (which I won’t be able to register for until most of my major classes are completed).

…So where do I start?

It wasn’t until recently that I figured out the best way to begin was through volunteering and joining student organizations at my college. While these opportunities might not give me as much exposure to a bunch of different software that UXers use, you have to start somewhere, and I am proud to say that I am taking my first steps. During that time, I also emailed a few professionals in my area and received some valuable advice. I was relieved to know that some of them started out by teaching themselves rather than going through a traditional academic institution.

I’ve collected some mental notes along the way, and here’s a few examples:

  • Join a professional organization. Go to their workshops, network, and learn from the people who have the career you aspire to one day have. Maybe find a mentor along the way.
  • Start understanding design structure. Venture over to YouTube and Lynda.com, try the free Adobe trials and tutorials.
  • Don’t be discouraged if you are not qualified for an internship just yet. Email them and ask for advice. You never know what kind of opportunities you can create for yourself if you just ask.
  • Start building your portfolio. It may not be the best right now, but at least you’ll have something to show employers the next time you go internship hunting. It can always be perfected later on.
  • Don’t just focus on the visual aspect of UX. Understanding the psychology and how to research is just as important.
  • Lastly, don’t be so hard on yourself. You have a long life ahead of you, do not shorten it by sweating the small stuff. You will find a career you love when the time is right.

As I progress through the “world of design,” I hope to look back at my mental notes and see how far I’ve gone. Today, I’m a tech student hoping to get some experience before I graduate, but ten years from now I could be a successful designer for a reputable company. (:

If you have any advice for aspiring designers, comment them below. Share some words of encouragement and inspiration.

--

--