Ben Tour: The One Man Show

phraze.eth
MUCHMORE
Published in
6 min readJun 19, 2017

Ben Tour is a shining example of a contemporary independent artist. He’s hyper-driven, self motivated, one of many artists redefining what it means to be an independent artist today. I’ve been fortunate enough to work with over a hundred artists through past projects and few have inspired me more than Ben Tour. The following interview was conducted by email and compiled here on Medium.— Jason Markow//Artist//TEKSTartist

BACKGROUND

What was your path to pursuing art full time?

I grew up in Toronto and was a teenager in the 90’s. Graffiti, Hip Hop, comic books and eventually contemporary Illustration had a big effect on me. I was lucky to grow up around a group of like minded friends in the city that pushed me to develop and grow as an artist. I also had amazing teachers that inspired me like Harvey Chan and Joe Morse.

Did you always want to be an artist when you grew up?

Yes. My parents encouraged me as it was obvious early on I wasn’t good at much else. Ive always loved comics and cartooning since I was a kid. I love to draw and still do.

STYLE

What’s a piece that you’re most proud of (regardless of fan response)?

I know you want a legit answer to this question but I’ve racked my brain and I’d be lying if I said I had a favorite. I’m hyper critical of everything I do. Their are certain pieces where I feel like I had a small break through with materials and tried something new and it worked out and I got excited about moving the paint.

It comes down to luck a lot of the time where I know what’s good and what’s bad. I don’t paint as much as I should for that reason- unless my sketch is strong enough I don’t develop it into a larger painting.

Each painting is a big investment of time and money and I have to get it right. When I paint commissions or Illustration I have a deadline and budget and have to get things approved to move forward and the clients who are making some decisions so it feels more like a job.

A very enjoyable job.

Has your style evolved steadily in a particular direction or do you feel that it’s more random? Are you drawn to specific themes in your art?

Yes, it has evolved subject matter wise and the mark making has loosened up. It’s bigger and more colorful. I feel like A LOT of people draw and paint tortured beautiful women and some of them do it very very well. I felt less interested in that as I got older and now my heart is in Animal Portraiture. There are more variety with shapes and movement and I love finding new animals I can try my hand at.

Living in Western Canada I feel a greater connection to wild animals, because Deer, Eagles and Bears I see all the time and I know more elusive beautiful creatures like Wolves and Cougars are very close by. Each animal species is so different and creating an emotional attachment to them is very gratifying.

When creating a new design, do you typically have a final message you’re trying to get across to your audience? Or, does the message reveal itself during the process?

My client based Illustration jobs usually have a editorial goal or visual message they have to send but my fine art is much more open to the stories I want to tell. That story at the moment is a secret language between animals. The strength and beauty in animals all people can relate to and viewers create their own personal relationships with my pieces.

My job is to create an emotional connection. My concepts evolve like my subject matter and technique. Daily life experiences and personal growth and exposure to the world around me can inspire the next piece so I have no idea what tomorrows message could be. Lately I want viewers to be entertained. The beauty of a great painting is returning to it and discovering little nuances and details each time.

AUDIENCE

Has your experience with social media affected your art?

Its funny thinking back to a time without social media. I’ve been a visual artist since the 90’s so the self promotion aspect of social media is mind blowing. I used to go to comic book shops, libraries and book stores for inspiration or reference, which I still do but now the platform is so much bigger and their are so many people doing art.

Its overwhelming at times. I do love it but I think young artists suffer a bit if their constantly looking at other peoples work. Its also a huge distraction. Each platform is so different. I like my IG to be more curated and Snapchat is just me being stupid most of the time. Twitter Ive been on the longest and still love although my strength is pictures and I don’t always have the courage to express my feelings there as I don’t want to alienate clients.

We have to be careful with Social media as it can be a double edged sword.

Do you feel that it’s important for artists to engage with their audience/fans?

Yes, its very important. Affecting other peoples lives in positive ways is one of the best things about making art. Also finding new patrons and opportunity’s.

PERSONAL

As a father, do you feel creativity is an important part of childhood? How do cultivate it?

I just sit and draw with my kids. I listen to them. Their ideas behind their art is very clear and honest and I’ve always loved the rawness of children’s art. Kids can’t help but be creative.

What advice would you give to your 15 year old self?

I don’t remember being 15, I’d probably tell myself to not eat so much Acid and go to more concerts. I missed Nirvana’s Nevermind Tour.

Can you tell us about your tattoos? Did you design them yourself?

My tattoos are a work in progress. Little collected stamps. Most of them are trades with friends. I like black work. I have a big Kathe Kollwitz etching on my left arm. I get a few a year. None were designed by me, their mostly based on tattoo’s Ive seen that I liked.

Who are some of your favorite artists out there today?

I think seeing artwork in person makes you a much bigger fan of that artists work. Some of my favorites outside of the Instagram community are local to the Vancouver area as I’ve been lucky enough to know and see these artists work in person. Andy Dixon, Caroline Weaver, Joseph Staples, Scott Sueme, RHEK, Andrew Young, Gabriel Dubois, and Kaput just to name a few.

Aaaaannnnd Finally- What was the last song you listened to?

This one…

If you enjoyed this interview, please hit the ♥ button in the footer so that more people can discover this artist!

See more of Ben’s work at any of the links below:

Website
Instagram

MORE ARTIST INTERVIEWS

Alec HuxleyCarne GriffithsMarissa Quinn

--

--

phraze.eth
MUCHMORE

Artist. Builder. Writer. Father. I write about rad things and the people who create them.