Some Assembly Required - An interview with collage artist Katy Hirschfeld

phraze.eth
MUCHMORE
Published in
5 min readJun 14, 2016

To take something that is already “complete” and see something completely different in it, disassemble it, and remix it into something new takes a sharp eye, a steady hand, and an open mind. Katy Hirschfeld, collage artist and founder of Collage Garage has all three.

We were drawn to her style, her attention to detail, and the way she doesn’t hesitate to remix the world around her. We sat down with her to talk about her process, her fans all over the world, and the piece she created for Derbby. — Jason Markow/TEKSTartist.

INTRO

Katy Hirschfeld

IAC: Tell us a bit about your story. Where did you grow up? How did that affect you as a creative?

Katy: I grew up in a small beach town in New Jersey, where my thirst for creativity and expression began. Every since I can remember, my mother (a free-spirited woman who was an artist as well) encouraged me to reach beyond normalcy and pursue my own form of artistic dialogue. At the age of five, I began collaging and the rest is history. I have to yet to stop.

Did you always want to be an artist when you grew up?

I always wanted to be an artist when I grew up, but I wasn’t sure whether I would become a full-time artist until I moved to Austin, Texas, and finally understood how powerful my ability was to share my art with so many different cultures and people.

What other forms of art are you drawn to?

I love street art. I also love hyperrealism such as Kevin Peterson. I have so much respect for an artist who gets everything perfectly. It takes so much patience and endurance, although personally, I focus more on imperfection in my work, as it closer resembles the society we live in.

YOUR STYLE

What influenced your passion for collage-style art?

I love how limitless collages are. There are truly no boundaries, which is how art should be for the artist and the viewer. It’s really amazing to be able to create various plots and subplots in my work and manipulate them as I go along. Furthermore, I appreciate the fragmented approach — it reflects the way my mind works on a daily basis, focusing on a bunch of little things at once to form a larger picture or thought.

I went to Seattle on a teen tour many years ago. I was there for one day and it really led to influence my style. I fell in love with the grunge aesthetic and from that point on I wanted to replicate that vibe and try to instill it in my work as much as possible.

Can you tell us more about the piece “City”? What inspired you to create this design?

I created this piece to reflect my experience living in New York City, which I believe is consistent with the experiences of many others. The theme captures the chaos that surrounds the city, but once you really immerse yourself in the chaos and the city, you find the true beauty that lies throughout.

Is there an underlying theme or message you’re trying to get across to fans with this design?

It is so easy to get overwhelmed in today’s society. The underlying theme is that we can all take a step back, gain perspective, and truly appreciate beauty in even the most chaotic of surroundings.

What magazines or mediums tend to provide the best source imagery?

As you can imagine, I’ve worked with a lot of magazines and mediums in my works. I oftentimes find the best magazines to be the ones I least expect to find something in. However, I always find myself incorporating more independent and high fashion magazines such as “The Last Magazine”. I refer to magazines as my “paint” and my hands are the brush. I also love finding old international magazines to add to the mystique of my works.

Describe your art in 3 words

Progressive, imperfect, and thought-provoking.

AUDIENCE

Has your experience with social media affected your art?

It’s really been a useful resource. Due to my Facebook page and Instagram account I have connected with clients in Sweden, Australia, London, and Hong Kong. I also met my mentor via Instagram who has really helped me excel with my career and has provided me with some great opportunities.

Do you feel that it’s important for artists to engage with their audience/fans?

It is very important and I believe an artist has a duty to engage with their audience/fans. I always enjoy hearing from my clients and fans and being able to communicate with them about my art. I really love hearing so many different and interesting interpretations and opinions on my art.

PERSONAL

Sometimes I feel like we’re all just kids walking around in adult bodies. What advice would you give to your 15 year old self?

Learn… learn everything you possibly can. Learn in school and embrace challenges. Take everything, no matter how difficult it may seem, as a learning experience and a chance to become a better person. Life is too short to have regrets or be afraid to be yourself. Also, don’t try to force anything. Everything happens for a reason… and also to always try hard to have faith in the universe.

What was the last song you listened to?

This one:

Do you have a favorite quote?

“ I May not be read well, but I do read well.” — Kurt Cobain

If you like this interview you can see more of Katy’s work on her website, her Facebook page or on her Instagram account.

If you enjoyed this interview, please hit the ♥ button in the footer so that more people can discover this artist!

--

--

phraze.eth
MUCHMORE

Artist. Builder. Writer. Father. I write about rad things and the people who create them.