Back to the Future

Roy Kinsey
Internet, Libraries, Thinking
3 min readNov 17, 2015

It’s all due to innovative storytelling and new digital products that so many publications were able to survive during what many considered as a crisis. This crisis that so many people described was the internet, and the rapid advancements of technology.

The latest innovation is the 2 week old device that I purchased from Amazon for about $17.00 including shipping. Google Cardboard is a kit equipped with magnets, and lenses to thrust the viewer into a 3D/VR experience. I have to say at first I did not understand the impact the experience would have. I am from a very confusing generation where I am probably the last to know what life was like before smartphones, and wireless passwords at every restaurant. There is a part of me that is very rigid, and nostalgic, shaking a closed fist to teenage passersby while simultaneously yelling for them to stay off my grass. I’m exaggerating a bit, as I just turned 30, but I do feel some reluctance in jumping on everything the new generation cosigns. I don’t get the music. The two wheel hover board seem cool, but if I see anyone over 21 on them, I just think of Madonna. I know that Madonna isn’t the problem though. She’s legendary. I know it’s me. So I got Google glasses. I followed the 4–5 step instructions in installing them, and downloaded the NYTVR App. Downloaded the 11 minute video and slipped the glasses over my eyes. I slipped on my beats headphones, that sealed out all outside noise. In about 60 seconds I was in another world. There was a person there telling me a story about a street art project they were going to create. I took a few steps in a 360 motion. I looked up. Then down. Seamless. A new world in front of me. I went from the West side of Chicago to New York in a matter of minutes. I felt a smile creep upon my face. To for once, not have to be in control. To be in wonder and amazement. Finally a toy for me.

I thought about why now. Why would such an advancement be making an appearance now. I thought about the fact that the film Back to the Future exists entirely in the past now. I asked a friend about what he thought the future would be like. I had no ideas since I feel that through film, gadgets and cars, we have seen some incredible advances, and my imagination has not quite caught up. But the New York Times has tapped into that belief and capitalized on it. The story of “Walking In New York” was one of 4 shorts of a new world the viewer is immediately immersed that shortens the distance between us and our human cousins in other countries and states. And that has been the success of the newsprint since the threat of being obsolete. They have highlighted the humanity in citizens and shown the reflected the needs and concerns of the reader instead of just delivering news to them. They have told them stories about themselves. They have involved the reader, and delivered humanism in a place where people believed there could be no trace of true humanity. It seems that daily publications seem to only be filled with bad news, but with the Google Glasses they have added an element to maintain their readership. I was surprised to be able to capture that feeling again of being a child, but a pleasant surprise to be Back to the Future.

--

--

Roy Kinsey
Internet, Libraries, Thinking

Rapper | Chicago Public Library | YOUmedia | ‘READING CAME FIRST’ Podcast |