Game Design in Libraries?

Richy Sandberg
Internet, Libraries, Thinking
3 min readDec 7, 2015

Once in a while, you have a patron that walks into your library who talk to, and find some inspiration from. Last year I will never forget an encounter I had with a guy who I’ll name “John” because — well John is common, right? John used to come in every day; he’d sit at PCs in our computer lab and play games all day on them. At first, I thought to myself, “oh, great, it’s ‘John’ again, does this guy have anything else to do?” I mean, this was going on all day; there were times where I had to get him off the computer, so another patron can use it (this was due to busy lab times). One day he happened to be very giddy; he came up to our computer desk and he told me that, “I am going to the Illinois Institute of Art for programming.” At first, I was shocked that he even said something to me, but I then asked, “what for?” He mentioned it was for “gaming.” It all made sense, now, and I completely got in my head why he was here for so long. Months later, he was at the library, all the time, and working on the computers — doing school work. He asked me one day, “Do you guys have any gaming programs or software to code?” I had to answer, “No” at the time. Now, could libraries add these types of programs for patrons to use? If so, would it be successful? Matt Enis, author of Game Design Proves Popular at Orange County Center mentions that, “since its grand opening in 2014, the Orange County Library System’s Doroty Lumley Melrose Center for Technology Innovation and Creativity, has offered patrons access to high-tech tools raning from 3-D printers to flight simulators” (Enis, 2015). The center itself, has a growing video game design program center. There have been “big movements” in game development. One of the biggest reasons is that, when the center originally opened, 30 members met up to program in the library. Because the space got popular, Enis mentions that, “Now it’s 120 members; we now have technology available to them” (Enis, 2015). Since there was no place like it before, the library has proven to be not just another library in the community, but a place for programmers to go. The biggest thing is, there are local Colleges, as well as Walt Disney World in the area, and programmers and designers, as Enis explains, “are highly requested.” The rule of thumb here is, creating such a place could not only house current programmers, but intrigue future programmers to get their hands on, and or learn the field. I wonder, is this even possible at our local library? Or, better yet, area libraries? One example is the Schaumburg Public Library; this library has media content and programming for their “Teen Space.” Yet, since this is a popular area, maybe my library can get involved, somehow. Especially since a Teen Space is in our near future. After all, the library is not just a place anymore for books, but a collaborative and creative space for patrons.

Reference:
Enis, M. (2015, August 31). Game Design Proves Popular at Orange County Center. Retrieved from Library Journal: http://lj.libraryjournal.com/2015/08/gaming/game-design-proves-popular-at-orange-county-center/

--

--

Richy Sandberg
Internet, Libraries, Thinking

I dig Charles Bronson films, 80s films, movie posters, tattoos, horror and sci-fi films, and I have an undying love for the Chicago Cubs.