Masters of Library & Information Science FTW

Gigi Soto
Internet, Libraries, Thinking
1 min readSep 1, 2015

My name is Gigi Soto; I am a graduate student at Dominican University pursuing a Master’s degree in Library and Information Science. Although my short term career goals are still unclear, my long term career goal is to be the library director of an academic library. One question I get a lot from my peers is; what led me into the world of library and information science?

While pursuing a Bachelor’s degree in psychology at the University of Dayton, OH, I realized that although that was a subject that called my attention, it was not a subject I fell passionate about. I held an on-campus job as a Library Assistant at the Roesch Library at the University of Dayton. Here I realized that my passion for research was misdirected and, most important, it was not limited to psychology. Having access to an array of books and all sorts of electronically databased information, and facilitating said information to patrons felt right where I belonged. This work experience made me decide to pursue a Master’s of Library and Information Science (MLIS).

Having completed my first semester in the program at Dominican University, Spring 2015, I realized that the library/information field is constantly changing, moving more and more towards the digital world. That is why for my second semester in the program, I am focused on courses that revolve around the digital era; such as LIS882 Metadata for Digital Resources and LIS753 Internet Fundamentals and Design.

--

--