Stop Studying “How To Code”…..

Kyle Netterville
Internet of Technology
2 min readJun 20, 2024

--

Ever since I’ve been learning to code, I’ve made some mistakes along the way.

Photo by KOBU Agency on Unsplash

I realize that coding isn’t just a “Oh go get your textbooks and you’re all good to go!”.

Not in the slightest.

I recently in early January of 2024, started to learn to code and I must say it is fun!

That was my freshman semester, and it was a journey.

I almost spent countless hours trying to print out a “Hello world” on my computer.

Now, I can safely say that I have moderate knowledge of the programming world (PSST — yeah right).

Photo by Chris J. Davis on Unsplash

Anyway hitting the keys for 4 hours every day, is worth it. It’s because coding is not a skill you learn from textbooks. Coding takes experience and practice to get better at it.

You will make mistakes and will fail (a lot). However, if you’re committed, you will learn a lot from it. When it comes to programming, understanding the basics and doing beginner projects (even my own) has profoundly helped my understanding of code.

As of now, I now know:

  • HTML

--

--

Kyle Netterville
Internet of Technology

Writer/Programmer/Freelancer. I love to learn, talk about life, and help others through my own experience! My Substack: substack.com/@kylenetterville