A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step

Saurav Kumar
Internshala Tech
Published in
2 min readJun 5, 2023

After graduating from college, everyone introspects their journey and the choices they have made. Everyone wants to join a good firm and have a growing career where they can learn things. A similar thing happened to me when I joined Internshala.

The best thing that I like about Internshala is the way they stick to their culture. I applied for an internship at Internshala but was rejected. The least I expected about to get feedback about my rejection and resume, but surprisingly I got a detailed email with my strengths and weaknesses.

I worked on my weaknesses and started applying to other internships and jobs at Internshala itself. Although I was not sure this time as I was rejected earlier but this time I was selected.

24th August 2020 was my first day at Internshala. And being my first job there was a lot of nervousness, uncertainties, and questions going on my mind. What to do? Whom to reach out to? Should I reach out to someone or someone from HR will reach out to me?

Later that day, I had an interaction with my then manager (Amar), and things started to ease out. The environment became more friendly after the welcome session and the famous “Pehchan Kaun” game — which is basically for new joiners.

The training period went smoothly and after a few weeks, I was introduced to Roadmap. Again, I was excited and nervous. I was excited because I was going to contribute. My piece of code is going to make an impact on the lives of students and employers and that was a great feeling. However, I was nervous also as I was not prepared at all and wondered how to deal with the modules, but then due to the great support of seniors, I gradually started learning and completing the modules assigned.

Keeping these apart, the thing which fascinates us most is transparency, so we can freely express our point of view on any aspect. In addition, it’s a great learning source for teamwork and planning. The thing which I learned apart from technical skills is how to be responsible for what you are doing. How to take ownership of things? In a nutshell, I could tell all the learnings at Internshala abided by its culture.

I have completed 2 years at Internshala and the learning has been massive, be it products or researching certain things. If you want to join us then do visit our career page

--

--