Extra Escape

Elizabeth Narvaez
Interpersonal Dynamics
4 min readNov 24, 2014

Study Halls tell you what their purpose is in its title. It is meant for studying. But why does the title seem to shrink in Brewster High School? Why am I not able to focus? Why am I not able to get work done?

Throughout the “days” I have numerous study halls. These study halls are combined with a variety of students. The set up: the students sitting in the front are the focused, timid workers; in the back we have the “slackers”- the kids who do not have a control over their volume. Then there is me. I’m about to explode, I’m trying to focus but all I can hear is discussions on “how hot he is” or “how annoying she is”. The teacher doesn’t mind since we aren’t acting like monkeys.

However, there are teachers who will take matters into their own hands. This type of study hall is a “quiet study hall”. Even though the silence is a blessing in disguise; I still struggle to accomplish any work. The environment still blockades any work from being done.

The library is the only sanctuary from those study halls. Maybe it’s the books that makes you feel limitless with resources or the computers that are free for access. Maybe its the pictures or quotes of famous scholars and writers. Maybe its the way the windows allow for all the sunshine to light up the room. In the air, you feel the effort of minds trying to construct possible answers.

Why can’t that same presence be alive in study halls? When asking fellow peers their thoughts on how effective study halls are, all of their answers were similar on how noise, friends, and strict no phone policies conflict with effective work. The library is the only escape from the distractions. The library is one of the quietest locations in the school. Sure, friends come and talk to you but you may collaborate or isolate yourself when you’re in the library. The library is not as strict with phones, however they do emphasize putting it away in order to get work done.

However, when talking to the librarian at Brewster High School, he began to drag me away from the idea of having another period in the library. He informed me that if you make arrangements with him, you can work in here more than once. He also gave me some background knowledge as to why the students are limited to one period.

When he first started working here, the library was another cafeteria. It was loud, messy, and a disappointment for a library. The students would monopolize their liberties in the library. So, once he enforced the one period policy, new students he had never seen before were coming in. These students were actually working. The amount of space allowed for teachers and students to utilize this new library for collaborations.

Though this enlightenment steered me in all different directions; the passion for having another period in the library did not die. Although the librarian made valid points, what if I need to come to the library more than once, every day, for a month. The access to that extra period would aid so many students. I know when I’m in the library I’m rushing on the computer because I only have a set of time in order to get my work done. Thirty-nine minutes on the clock and I can feel every second slipping away as I type a new word into the computer. To have back to back periods or another period would cause less stress knowing you can continue working.

The library is the second chance to get last minute work done. I know that I get lazy and I am a huge procrastinator but knowing the next day I have a study hall and I can go to the library, helps me spread out my time with big assignments.

The environment of the library is a huge contrast to the environment of study halls. In the library effective work is in the making compared study halls where semi-effective work is in the making. If that extra period in the library was allowed, think of the collaborations and the essays that would come out in the result.

In order to achieve this one extra period, a lot of convincing would have to be done. I think that a form stating the required work that you would like to do during a period would be a step in the right direction. That period would be completely dedicated to that work, similar to when you get a pass from a teacher and the work from that teacher is required in the library. Respect of this policy would be emphasized because we do not want another cafeteria. This a tranquil escape from the loud jungle of the cafeteria. The form would be strict in order to enforce for this work to be done. The teacher would sign off and you would say what work you would be doing that one period.

If this form was possible, think of the amount of success and the decrease in stress. The form would be a step in the right direction for effective and mature work in the library. You can retreat from unproductive study halls, to an oasis of productiveness.

--

--

Elizabeth Narvaez
Interpersonal Dynamics

We have nothing to lose, nothing to gain, nothing we desired anymore- except to make our lives into a work of art.