The Road Less Traveled

Cloey
Interpersonal Dynamics
3 min readNov 24, 2014

--

Preschool, Kindergarten, Elementary School, Middle School, High School, College: the steps to a successful life. When I ask my classmates, “What are you doing after high school?” almost everyone responds with some sort of plan to attend college. When I hear these responses, I hope it is because they genuinely want to go to college, and not because it is the routine set deep into our roots since we first started school.

As I watched my brother stress as he finished his senior year of high school, I was stressed too. How would I handle this when it was my turn to graduate? I couldn’t, I wouldn’t. All of this pressure on one person, in the span of about a year, is known to determine the rest of their life. It didn’t make sense, why aren’t students allowed more flexibility for success?

Now both of my siblings are currently attending college, where they are no doubt undergoing life changing experiences and creating unforgettable memories, all while earning their degrees. This aspect is amazing, but attending college is a choice, an option.

This is the part we forget. We forget that this isn’t the only option; there are several more opportunities for high school graduates other than college. The military, trade school, a gap year, or simply following your heart are some of the alternative choices we have to succeed in society.

Trade schools are a perfect example of success without being a college attendee. My uncle, instead of going to college, decided to master his skills at a trade school and is now one of the most successful people I know. Unlike most, I am aware options like trade school have a high success rate. Since middle school, I had realized maybe college was not the fit for me. This can be surprising considering all of the chit chat about Yale and Harvard since I was a child.

We are constantly pressured by our elders to try our hardest, with college as the motive. It has become inscribed into our brains that we need to do well during high school, to the point where if students fail one test, they fear they have lost all chances of being accepted to their top choice colleges. Even some teachers and parents have it built into their brains that if their child or student does not choose college, they are not choosing success.

My peer asked me, “Why do you still try in school if you don’t plan on going to college?” Well, why would I not try? Most people would answer by explaining high school is what prepares you for college, so there would be no point in still trying. I believe you should try your hardest at everything and anything you do, even if your goals are different from the person next to you.

Not going to college has a bad reputation. It is automatically assumed you are going to live in your parent’s basement until the end of time and virtually do nothing with your life. High school graduates who chose not to attend college are known for having a bad stigma, no motives, and are considered hopeless. But all of this is one huge stereotype. Although I am not sure exactly what path I want to follow after high school, I know whatever I chose, it will be with full hearted passion.

We need to break away from the set routine, or at least make it known to students that they have other options that can lead to success. One person’s idea of success can be completely different than someone else’s.The definition of success is the favorable or prosperous termination of attempts or endeavors; the accomplishment of one’s goals. With that being said, my goals might be different than another person’s. It is not fair to assume that everyone wants to attend college, get a job, and then retire. As a high school student, I think it would be refreshing to be reminded occasionally that there are several other paths to success.

--

--