An Open Letter To The Racist, Misogynistic Guy At The Dog Park

Dude, Even Your Dog Is A White Male

Misty Rae
Interracial Relations
6 min readSep 9, 2022

--

Photo by MChe Lee on Unsplash

Dear Sir,

I don’t go to the dog park looking for trouble, I really don’t. All I want to do there is watch my puppy, Rudy play with the other dogs in the hopes that he burns off his excess energy. That way, I can work uninterrupted later in the day as he sleeps.

I just want to sit there, drink my water and maybe chat with some of the other pet parents that I’ve gotten to know. Well, gotten to know is a strong word, I know them only through our respective dogs. There are the humans belonging to my Rudy’s good pals Zeus, Jasper, Cosmo, Mellow, Mulder and of course Gomez, the 80-pound tour de force packed into a 5-pound baby pug body.

Then came you. I knew there was going to be a problem when I first saw you. I can’t exactly put my finger on it, but I knew. It was in the way you carried yourself, the way you looked around the park, and even the way you dressed. I. JUST. KNEW.

And before you get your tightie-whities all in a twist, no the irony of me judging you by appearance while calling you out for judging people based on the colour of their skin and/or their gender isn’t lost. However, when you’ve encountered as many racists and misogynists as I have, you learn to see them…

--

--

Misty Rae
Interracial Relations

6X Top Writer. Former legal eagle. Wife, mother, nature lover, chef, writer and all-around free spirit . https://ko-fi.com/mistyrae