PSYCHOLOGY|CULTURE|RACE

Black Females Feel Deeply Too — One Sentence Packed A Punch That Knocked Me Cold

My family and culture were trying to protect me but ended up burying and almost killing the parts of me I now love most

KL Simmons
Interracial Relations
5 min readApr 18, 2022

--

Photo by Zachary Kadolph on Unsplash

For the past few days, I have been thinking about this:

write about what it’s like to find yourself within the invisible confines of sentences.”

It’s from a prompt that Diana C. shared in the publication Know Thyself, Heal Thyself to which Misty Rae choose to write a story.

“Well, I only need one sentence. It’s short. It’s sweet. It sounds beautifully humble on its face. And it ruined my life for over 40 years. There’s always someone better.”

I could identify with her words that were said to me in other ways by multiple people in my family and community:

“Don’t think you’re too good for…

--

--

KL Simmons
Interracial Relations

Seeking improvement as a writer and human. Email: KLSimmons.medium@gmail.com. Owner of the publications: Taking Off, Pure Fiction and Interracial Relations.